Ilocana-mode · Mommy musings

Booksale Raves and Rants

I am a big fan of Booksale. I have to admit, I just a recent appreciate for the store. I was on frugal-mode since I became a mom and was on the hunt for “frugalicious” stores and shops. It is also a fact that  I am a book lover. My library, when I was young and single, comprise of a variety of titles and genres. Reading has always been my stress reliever (before I had Lucas. Now it’s him hehe). And of course I would want my Little Jedi have a fondness to reading too.

When my boss (also a book lover) told me about Booksale, I was skeptic at first. How can I find good books on a second-hand store? I got a little curious when she mentioned a lot of good titles that she got from the store. And so, I visited the nearest one in our area, in SM Bicutan. I was suprised to see a lot of good books there and how cheap they are! I came home with What to Expect on the First Year for 200 petot! Instantly I became a fan.

Some of my Booksale loot

Upside:

Most of the books are in good condition, although some are not. The prices range from Php20-Php300+ depending on the title and condition of the book. I saw some hardbound books for Php40. They have good titles too. I was able to buy Horton Hears a Who for Php140 and The Cat in the Hat (hard and softbound..adik lang hehe) for Php120 and Php80 respectively. Those books would cost around 500 bucks if bought brand new. I was also able to buy Malinche by Laura Esquivel for 130 bucks. I also got some magazines for Php40-60. I heard there are even cheaper. Some of the more popular titles that I saw there were Da Vinci Code, Memoirs of a Geisha, First Things First, Chicken Soup for the Soul all below Php200. I even saw a hardbound copy of The South Beach Diet for Php40!

Downside:

The books have limited copies. Most of the time, there is just one copy per title. You also have to go through mountains of books which are not organized per title, author, or even genre. One has to have a keen eye to find the titles she wants. Oh, and the “babalikan ko na lang yung book” style will not work. Since they have limited copies, the books may already be bought and not replenished. That happened to me twice. First, I saw The Happiest Toddler on the Block on Wednesday, decided to buy it the following Saturday. Saturday came and I was so excited to buy the book when I could no longer find it on the shelves. It took me about an hour to realize and accept that the book is no longer there. Either the book has been bought, or it has been transferred to a different store.

The second time was when I saw a book on giving discipline to toddlers. I saw the book, decided to buy it after lunch and when I came back two hours after, it was gone. I even hid the book on the farthest shelf! Hay. Lesson: when you see it and you like it, buy it!

Generally, I am very happy with Booksale and my purchases from there. It has already become a weekly habit to drop by and buy a book or two…or three…or four…

Leave a Reply

