Happy foodie

I Can Cook! – Fish with Tausi Sauce and Garlic Sauteed Spinach

It’s been a while since I last posted about my cooking ventures (or adventures). I admit, I have been a little busy to cook something new or even to cook at all. Hubby gets home earlier than I do so he does the cooking most of the time. Today I cooked two recipes that I have been wanting to try.

Since I am on the “healthy-lifestyle” mode today, I cooked fish with tausi and some sauteed spinach as side.

Here are the ingredients for Fish with Tausi that I got from overseaspinoycooking.net.:

1 kilo fish fillet, cut into serving pieces (I used cream dory)
4 cakes tokwa, tofu, cut into serving pieces
1/2 cup oyster sauce
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/2 head garlic, finely chopped
2 medium size onion, chopped
2 pieces red and green bell pepper, cut into wedges
1 small can tausi, salted beans, drained and rinsed (I only had tausi sauce)
1 small size carrot, sliced
1 stalk celery, sliced crosswise
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 tsp. sugar
salt and pepper

Unfortunately, I did not have the bell peppers, carrots and celery. Sayang, my dish would’ve looked nicer. Anyhoo, here’s how to cook it.

  1. Lightly season the fish with salt and pepper. Coat with flour and then fry. Set aside.
  2. In the same skillet, fry the tofu until golden brown. I like to keep the inner part of the tofu soft and creamy, but brown and crunchy on the outside. Set aside.
  3. Saute garlic and onion. Add the tausi sauce and cook for 1 to 2 minutes.
  4. Add 1 to 1/2 cup of water. Simmer for another 2 minutes.
  5. Add in the vegetables, sugar, hoisin and oyster sauce, cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Thicken the sauce by adding cornstarch diluted in water. Simmer for another 3 minutes.
  6. Put in the fish and tofu and mix well until the sauce covers the proteins.
  7. Add salt and pepper to taste.

To compensate with the lack of veggies, I partnered it with a simple sauteed spinach that I got from Ina Garten, one of my favorite cook and author. Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds baby spinach leaves
  • 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic (6 cloves)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • Lemon

Here are the directions (I made some slight changes here):

Rinse the spinach well in cold water to make sure it’s very clean. Shake off any excess water from the spinach. In a pot, heat the olive oil and butter and saute the garlic about 1 minute, but not until it’s browned. Add all the spinach, the salt, and pepper to the pot, toss it with the garlic and oil, cover the pot, and cook it for 2 minutes. Uncover the pot, turn the heat on high, and cook the spinach for another minute, stirring until all the spinach is wilted. Lift the spinach to a serving bowl and squeeze a lemon. Serve hot.

The verdict?

Tadaaaaa!My mom and sister were there to taste it. My mom (yes, my mom!) loves it and my sister had several additional spoonfuls of rice with it. hehe. I have to say, the dishes were yummy! Next time, I’ll cook the fish with tausi with complete ingredients. hehe.

6 thoughts on “I Can Cook! – Fish with Tausi Sauce and Garlic Sauteed Spinach

    1. hi frugalfeeding!
      thanks! if you’re a fan of Chinese dishes, you’ll like this one. visit a nearby chinese foodstore and ask for tausi sauce or blackbeans in tausi sauce. 🙂

  1. This sounds really good! I love spinach with garlic and the tausi sauce sounds like it’s delicious, I will have to ty this… Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

