Mommy musings

We Love Dr. Seuss

My first encounter with Dr. Seuss was when my aunt gave my younger sister Green Eggs and Ham and Fox in Socks. They weren’t the type of books that I was used to reading because it didn’t seem to make any sense to me. But, somehow I was interested with it. When I found out I was pregnant, I immediately asked my sister if I could have her old books. (Each book cost only 60 petot then!)

I mentioned in my previous post that I read Green Eggs and Ham aloud when I was pregnant. After he was born, I was too busy being a new mom, I’ve forgotten to read to him.

I only remembered that I should read to him when he was already three weeks old. I don’t know if it’s just me, but when I started reading to him, he wasn’t as fuzzy. I bought another Dr. Seuss book, One Fish, Two Fish, another non-Dr. Seuss book. I noticed he listens more to the Dr. Seuss books than the other books. I figured it was the rhythm of the rhymes in the books. Well, whatever it is, I started buying more Dr. Seuss books.

I also looove how creative the characters are. His older books were limited to three or four colors but his newer books are definitely more colorful.

We only have 12 right now (Dr. Seuss’ ABC is not in the pic). By far, Lucas seems to like The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes back and dozes off with The Sleep Book.

Dr. Seuss’ characters may look a little odd and his way with words is unconventional but he sends some very sensible messages in his books. I can’t wait for Lucas to start asking questions about what the lines mean. Hmm, I better start preparing for it.

Here are some of my personal favorite lines from the books:

"It is fun to have fun but you have to know how" -- The Cat in The Hat

 

From "I Can Read With My Eyes Shut"
From "Oh, The Places You Will Go"
One thought on “We Love Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

