Mommy musings

I Love Weekends!

I do not know about you, but I like it when Yaya Weng takes a day off on a weekend. Don’t get me wrong, I adore her! And I am ok with her going on day off only if the weekend is not tight for us (If she asked to take a day off on Lucas’ birthday that’s a definite no). You see, I am guilty of being too dependent on her even during weekends only because I bring home work. But when she is away, I forget about work and be a full-time housewife and stay-home mom — even for just two days in a week.

First off, I get to clean the house. My mom’s really OC when it comes to house cleaning. I’d like to think some of it rubbed off on me. We haven’t really fixed our place since we moved it. Because of our work and preparing for the Little Jedi’s party, we still have a lot of boxes unopened, the master’s bedroom is still the storage room right now, and there still aren’t any cabinets in place. Beautifying our small home is my personal project for the year. I am just waiting for my bestfriend Rachelle’s (who’s an interior designer) recommendation before we start working. Anyhoo, so on a Yaya-less day, I try my best to organize a cluttered space.

Second, I get to cook for my hubby and baby. Before getting married, I could not cook and did not cook. After marriage, I made a personal commitment to try and put into practice what I learn from Mike, The Food Network, AFC, and Travel and Living. Besides, since Dr. Saulog gave the go signal that we can give Lucas table food, I would rather prepare the food myself and know that it’s good for him.

Third, I get to play with Lucas. Well it only comes third because among the first three activities, this is what I do more of and everyday. Okay, maybe it should be changed to “I get to play with Lucas…more”. In fact I get to do a lot of things with him that I can’t when I am at work: feed him, change his diapers, give him a bath, take him outside for a walk, observe and inspect him from head to toe.

I get to inspect other stuff in the house, like are there any left-over food that should be thrown already or are there fruits and veggies that should have been prepared. Just today, I saw a bag of spinach tops that I bought last week. I intended to cook it with oyster sauce. I guess all the craziness of Lucas party last week made me forget about it.

We also got to swim at the clubhouse’s pool with Mike’s twin brother and his wife.

It makes me want to be a stay-home mom more and more.

They say career-oriented women need to stay working and would not be able to stand the boring life of a stay-home mom. I totally disagree. If I can, I would rather be home and be a full-time mom and wife. I don’t think I’ll get bored with all the action with the Little Jedi. And I bet a lot of mommies will agree with me on that. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Love Weekends!

Leave a Reply

