Happy foodie

I Can Cook! – Misua Soup is Love

I have always been conscious of what I give Lucas when he started to eat solid food.  I rarely gave him jarred baby food. Most of what he eat are home-cooked with no salt. I have been giving him boiled/steamed broccoli or fruit slices for snack. Doc Vienne approves of it and encourages me to continue doing that so Lucas will get used to the taste of veggies and fruits. It’s much healthier than giving him cookies or biscuits.  In my previous post I already mentioned that Dr. Vienne Saulog gave the go signal to give Lucas regular table food. I just need to make sure that the food won’t be too salty or oily. So for his first table meal, I made him mommy’s nutritious misua (with no patola) soup. Why is there no patola (loofa)? Uh, only because I wasn’t able to find one in the market hehe. I added some more veggies to make it healthier for the bebe.

Here are the ingredients:

  • 1/4 ground pork
  • 1 large carrot, cubed
  • half a head of cabbage, (sort of) Chiffonade
  • 1 onion – slice half and chop the other half
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 eggs, boiled
  • 1 chicken broth cube
  • 5 cups of water
  • fish sauce
  • pepper
The Cast

For meatballs:

  1. Mix ground pork and onions. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  2. Make small balls and set aside.

For the soup

  1. Saute onion and garlic on oil and a little bit of butter.
  2. Put in water and chicken broth.
  3. When water starts to boil, put in carrots and meat balls. Simmer until meat is cooked and carrots are tender.
  4. Add fish sauce and pepper to season.
  5. When carrots are almost cooked add cabbage and misua noodles. Simmer some more until cabbage is cooked.
Almost done

Cut the boiled eggs to quarter and serve to baby.

Mmmmm 🙂
What's that, Mami?
He loves it! Success!
2 thoughts on “I Can Cook! – Misua Soup is Love

Leave a Reply

