Little Jedi · Mommy musings

A Seussical Party: Dr. Seuss inspiration, Details and DIY’s

Most parties nowadays have themes. And the key for the theme to work for any mommy-planner (or any planner for that matter), is the consistency in the party details. With a theme like Dr. Seuss, it was a bit challenging for us because, as I have expressed in my post, it is not a common theme here in the Philippines.ย  The solution: details and DIY’s.

Months before the party I have been browsing Pinterest and Hostess with the Mostess websites. They have the coolest ideas for parties. By September we have completed the ideas for color, details and designs. Oh and most importantly, all DIYs. I would say about 50 % of the party accents (or maybe even more) were DIY’s. My Sister-in-Law, Meg, was generous enough to share her creativity and skills in arts and craft and helped us with the details.

Color. Some of Dr. Seuss’ famous books are The Cat in The Hat, Green Eggs and Ham, One Fish, Two Fish, and Horton Hears a Who. So we picked each book cover’s color: cyan/blue, red and yellow. We added white just for balance.We found the same color scheme in the internet and sent it to our balloons supplier and caterer. I am so happy they both got the same colors. One of our guests thought we only had one supplier. Mike designed the tarpaulin background for the stage.

Food. Mike and I initially wanted to have Dr. Seuss-inspired food in the buffet, like Green Eggs and Ham sandwich, Oodles of Noodles, Beezlenut Juice or Pink Ink Yink Drink. Unfortunately, the caterer had a set of food included in their package. So I integrated the theme on my dessert buffet. Except for the marshmallow pops cookies and the cupcakes, we prepared everything else. We had Green Eggs and Ham cookies (c/o my boss), Cat in The Hat Marshmallow popsย  (I got the inspiration here), Oh The Places You’ll Go wiggly worms, Star Jelly Sneetches (layered Jell-o that was devoured immediately), Jungle of Nool Clover (choco mallows, crushed cookies, and swirly pops), and Thing One, Thing 2 cupcakes (inspiration here).

Accents. I wanted to share with the guests other Dr. Seussย  books aside from The Cat in The Hat, Horton Hears a Who and The Lorax so we printed and laminated pages from his books and placed one on each table.

There was no air conditioning in the venue so SIL prepared these really cute fans from corrugated boards and Popsicle sticks. This doubled as souvenir for adult guests. Aside from the fans, she also made super cute party hats for the kids.

Mike designed and printed all labels and the name tags. The inspiration for the name tags is Sam-I-Am of Green Eggs and Ham. Mike also did the Seussville sign using a hot wire styro cutter. How did we get a cutter? Oh it was just lying around their house. Just like their laminating machine. Why do they have a laminating machine at home? I don’t know either. Hehe.

Loot Bags. My personal favorite. We saw the loot bags online. We knew we must have those! Good thing BIL went to the US last year, so as early as June, we asked him to drop by Target and buy us some of these bags. I filled the bags with goodies from Divi and a DIY coloring book. I made sure even the stuff inside the bags are a little silly and of course fun. I love all the goodies in my loot bags but my favorites are the book, the swirly straws and the toothbrushes. Gotta have a toothbrush in each bag to remind the kids to brush their teeth after munching treats from our dessert buffet ๐Ÿ™‚

Message board. This is one of my favorites. We definitely veered away from the usual message board. For the party we had a Happy Birthday To You book and had the guests sign in there. Pleeeeeease don’t hate me, oh book enthusiasts. Please don’t think of it as vandalism. I am also a book lover.ย  I think it’s a swell idea to have an appropriately named book and turn it to a message board for everyone’s greetings and well-wishes to Lucas. It will be part of our Dr. Seuss collection so it definitely won’t go to the storage bin where things get lost after a couple of years.

Happy Birthday To You is a really nice book. I recommend it to mommies who are thinking of what to give to their kids for their birthdays.

Attire. Now this was a tough one. Mike and I didn’t know what Lucas will wear for the party. And we don’t know what to wear also! We asked Mike’s boss to buy us a Cat In The Hat hat in the US, and that’s it. We are not asking the kids to wear any costume, just some silly hats. So no point in putting Lucas in a costume. I told Mike he could be The Grinch but he refused. Hehe. We decided we’ll be Thing 1 and Thing 2. I bought blue wigs in Divi and we’re suppose to wear red shirts with Thing 1 and Thing 2 prints on it.ย  Then Mike saw another idea from the internet (don’t you just LOVE the internet?) to have t-shirts with “Thing Dad”, “Thing Mom” and “Baby Thing” printed on it. Mike wanted to do it himself so he bought iron-on papers. I didn’t know they sell these things!ย  You print on the paper, then you iron the print on the shirt and viola! Instant print! There was only one problem. Mike just finished printing “Thing Dad” on his shirt when he realized there were only two sheets of paper in the pack he bought. It was already 10:00 in the evening, the night before the party. The stores are already closed. It opens at 10:00 am but the party starts at 11:00 am. So he decided to print my shirt and just told me that Lucas already had a hat. I think it was also a good call because when we put Lucas’ name tag on his shirt the following day, it occupied most of his shirt. Had there been a print on it, people won’t be able to see it.

The only picture of Lucas with his hat on. He kept on pulling it off of his head

We also wanted a fun host and cool and unique activities for the kids. We got two cool hosts who did not only entertained the kids, but the adults as well. They did some science experiments that made both kids and adults excited. I’ll write about them too.

There were still more details that I wanted to incorporate in the party. Unfortunately, I thought of them a little too late so we did not have time to prepare them. For instance, I was thinking of printing book covers on poster-size tarpaulin and hang them around the venue.ย  But I have to say, I am really happy with what we did. Knowing that we (Mike, SIL, BIL, my friend Patty and I) worked on so many of the details ourselves makes me one proud party-organizing-mommy. I hope Lucas appreciates the love and creativity his parents and uncle and aunts poured out for his partey. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “A Seussical Party: Dr. Seuss inspiration, Details and DIY’s

  1. I am definitely blown away. You are a genius. I was only thinking of Jollibee for my first born’s first birthday. Reading this post makes me scream to myself “what kind of a mother are you?!”

    Hats off to you Maggie =)

  2. This is so cool! I initially wanted a “Cat in the Hat” theme party for my baby’s first birthday but the thought got lost somewhere in the midst of mommyhood ‘whirpool’, hehe.

  3. Hi Ms Maggie so impressed by the theme you had, very creative not a very common one.I came upon your blog through Yellow Halo and was so inspired to start my own blog. My baby girl just turned one last month and we had a Luau Party Theme well entertainment was good however catering was a BIG disappointment and I am considering having a smaller party to make up for it, but no idea where to start hehe.

    1. Oh thank you so much Jen! The caterer I got was also good. It’s Tres Marias. Try lang with an intimate party like with relatives muna. You can do it at home or at a restaurant with function halls so you can still keep the Luau theme. That’s a really nice theme, I must say. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thanks for this great idea, mommy Maggie!

    We just started with our planning for our li’l one’s first birthday. Told my husband I wanted a Dr Seuss’ themed party as well. Glad to come across your blog — additional great ideas. Many thanks to you! Hope all is well! I’m sure Lucas will be amazed with what his mom and dad did for his first bday!<3

  5. Thanks for this great idea , mommy Maggie ! We just started with the planning for our Lil one’s first birthday . Told my husband I wanted a Dr. Seuss ‘ themed-party as well . Glad to come across your blog – – additional great ideas . Many thanks for sharing ! Hope all are well ! I’m sure Lucas will be amazed with what you guys did for his first birthday ! โค

Leave a Reply

