Mommy musings

Rockin’ Romper and a Habit that I Need to Break

Don’t you just love this romper?

Target locked!

Ok. I confess. I am a sucker for cute and silly baby fashion.

This one’s from Mothercare given by Mike’s boss. I love Mothercare. It is my favorite baby store. Even my brother brings stuff from Mothercare from the UK. The baby stuff are a bit pricey, that is why I try to stop myself from buying. Before we go the mall, I’d tell Mike to literally pull me away from the store. But,Β kunsitidoras he is, he lets me float my way inside the store and buy something. Oh and yes…I’m a hoarder. (Guilty as charged!) I’ve bought bags and bags of onesies/rompers, baby clothes, shoes, weaning stuff, even a

Bought when he was just 5 months old and could barely reach the floor

walker!I know I should be stopping myself. I am a half-Ilocana but when it comes to this store, my other half just takes over my sanity and wallet. I remember seeing a Mickey bath poncho there and told myself I’ll buy it the following week. Maybe even the odds wanted me to control being a shop-a-hulk when it comes to the Little Jedi’s things. Because that following weekend, the poncho was gone.

My dear friend Patty told me that whenever I feel like buying something for Lucas, I should ask myself first “does he really need it now?”.Β  Sometimes it works (when I am with her) sometimes it doesn’t (when I am alone or with Mike). And so, with my blinders strapped, I will be traversing my way to Greenbelt 5 again this Saturday and try my best to ignore that drool-worthy store. My motivation now is my goal to make Lucas cost-conscious also. That should start from me, right? πŸ™‚

Anyhoo, if you want to visit Mother Care, for good reasons, it has four branches in Metro Manila: Greenbelt 5, Shangri-La Plaza Mall, Trinoma and Robinson’s Galleria.

12 thoughts on “Rockin’ Romper and a Habit that I Need to Break

      1. naku oo, recently i realized na i am buying things for my and hubby’s happiness. many of the stuff that i bought were a waste of money, most of them are just sitting in lia’s room, barely used. so now, what i do is i always think first if she really needs it. like for example when i bought lia’s swimsuit and floaters, i was planning to go to mothercare but then i thought, minsan lang niya gagamitin so maybe a can find a cheaper yet pretty ones naman in landmark. and it was a success! same purpose, mura pa πŸ™‚

  1. I also love Mothercare even before I got pregnant. That’s where I used to buy all my inaanaks’ clothes back in UAE. I’ve always loved statement shirts and that’s what I like about their kids’ clothes. I haven’t checked Mothercare here though. I even thought they only have a shop in Shangri-la Mall. I hope the price is just the same back in UAE. Hehe.

  2. Buti nlng malayo kmi sa Makati or else magrereklamo ang wallet ko. πŸ™‚
    While everyone thinks I’m kuripot, I go all out pagdating sa things ni baby. I guess most mums like us are πŸ™‚

  3. You’re definitely right, Em. Hehe. That made me feel a little better. I tend to be kuripot to myself pero kay Lucas haaay. San ka suki when it comes to Akira’s things? πŸ™‚

      1. naku isa pa yang si Baby Gap. I try to avoid that place when I am in Megamall. Pero cute nga ng mga clothes nila for little girls. Yung sa boys, i still kinda like Mothercare. πŸ˜€

  4. I agree with you on that one. I bought a Flexibath at mothercare, and the price is justified because sulit talaga. We can bring it anywhere and even if the baby outgrows it for bathtime, pwede pang gamitin for playtime. They really do have a lot of cute rompers, it’s almost impossible for a mother to resist.

    I work around the CBD and whenever we happen to have lunch at Greenbelt, it’s always a pressure not to buy something from Mothercare. While being cost-conscious must really start from us, it wouldn’t hurt to give in now that they’re not yet aware of the price of the clothes they’re wearing, right? Hahaha. Save the spendthrift moments when they’re old enough to take after what they see from their mothers, I say! =)

      1. Oh I love your point on being thrifty when they get older heehee. πŸ™‚ Thank you! I saw Flexibath too and almost bought it! I just realized we already bought a bathtub for Lucas. Pero yeah, they are really nice. Sigh. Moms will be moms πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

