Happy foodie

I Can Cook! Fried Kesong Puti with Tomato Sauce

I love cheese and I love tomato sauce. So when I saw this recipe in Yummy 100 Everyday Recipes, I just had to try it.

Ingredients

200 grams kesong puti sliced 1/4-inch-think

For the breading

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups Japanese breadcrumbs mixed with grated Parmesan cheese (I didn’t use Parmesan in this batch)
  • oil for frying

For sauce

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped onions
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 4 tomatoes chopped (I substituted this for 1 can diced tomatoes)
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 chicken bouillon cube
  • dash of cayenne pepper (I did not put this in mine because  I do not want it spicy)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

Dredge cheese slices in the classic trio of breaded cooking – flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs. Freeze for 20 minutes.

flour, egg, breadcrumbs

In a pan, heat oil then saute onions and garlic. Add tomatoes, add about 5 tbsps of water. Simmer for five minutes. Season with Italian seasoning (I use McCormik), sugar, salt, pepper and bouillon. Cook for 10 minutes then remove from heat and stir in basil.

Heat oil and fry cheese until golden brown. Serve with the sauce.

I wasn’t able to freeze the cheese before frying to it kind of melted while I was frying it. But it still tasted good. Tangy ad rustic. I ate half of it already even before I was finished with the dipping sauce. hehe. I LOVE the sauce. It tasted like the sauce in chicken provencal. The basil made it taste so fresh. Weird husband says it reminds him of the relish you put in inihaw na bangus (grilled milkfish). Go figure. Anyway, it will be such a waste to throw the leftover sauce so I steamed some cream dory and topped it with the sauce. That was my and Lucas’ dinner. Yum!

discovered a new dish 😉

Appetizer and dinner with one sauce!

 

Leave a Reply

