Happy foodie

I Can Cook! Maqui’s Fish Dish and Smash Squash

Before anything else, I’d like to thank Maqui for her Fish en Papilotte post, which inspired me to do the same.

You see I like fish, particularly cream dory fillet. The challenge with Maqui’s dish is that she baked the fish and I don’t have an oven. When we got to ride the same shuttle going to Ortigas, I had a light bulb idea while we were talking about the dish. I thought that maybe I can use a rice cooker to steam the fish instead. She also thought it could work. So I did.

It was a success! I was able to cook two different dishes, lemon, herb and butter and Maqui’s teriyaki-style fish less the veggies.

For the Lemon, Heb and Butter Fish, here are the ingredients:

  • Fish fillet
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • Your favorite fresh herb (I didn’t have any so I cheated and used dried Italian spices like oregano, thyme, etc.)
  • Scallions
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • salt and pepper

For the Asian-style, here are the ingredients (I tweaked it a bit from Maqui’s original recipe)

  • 2 tbsps soy sauce
  • 2 tbsps rice wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • scallions

If you are going to use a rice cooker, place all ingredients in a parchment paper or wax paper. Maqui also suggested aluminum foil. I used two wax papers to avoid any tear and losing the juice and sauce. Steam for 20 minutes and voila! One elegant, yummy and easy fish dish!

I paired the fish with mashed squash (inspired by my home-made mashed potatoes). Since I called my mashed potatoes Smash Potatoes, I call this dish Smash Squash. Tongue twister lang.

Here are the ingredients:

  • 1/2 kilo squash, peeled, cubed and boiled until soft
  • 1/4 cup cream
  •  2 tbps butter. You can add more if you like.

Mash the boiled squash. I used a food processor. Add the butter and cream. Blend some more. Add salt and pepper to taste. The squash is thicker than the potatoes. You may need to add more cream and butter until you are satisfied with the texture. Unlike my smash potatoes, which I like smooth, I don’t mind a chunky Smash Squash. It was a good side dish with the fish dishes.

Lemon, herb and butter
Maqui’s Asian
Smash Squash
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s another healthy meal for us! 🙂

 

One thought on “I Can Cook! Maqui’s Fish Dish and Smash Squash

Leave a Reply

