Mommy musings

Father’s Day Surprise (?)

I wanted to surprise Mike on Father’s Day. We were too preoccupied last year so we didn’t really get to celebrate it. Since Mike had work that day (yes, work on a Sunday) and he’s on the morning shift, I have time to prepare for the surprise dinner. I planned on both cooking and buying his favorite dishes. I even consulted his twin brother the set of dishes I had in mind. I also wanted to make our small dining area look festive so I visited Hostess with the Mostess and got some idea.

We had a pre-Father’s Day lunch with family the day before. I already told Mike’s twin that I’m inviting them to come over so we can all surprise Mike.

Little did I know that Murphy’s Law will fall on me that Sunday.

First, I woke up late. I was supposed to wake at 5:00 am so I can start on my cakepops. I woke up 7:00 am.

Then after hearing mass with the Little Jedi, I went to SM. I put my money and card in my phone pouch…or so I thought. I later found out I only had Php300. Ugh. I didnotput my money and card in my pouch. It was just enough to buy the rest of ingredients for the cake pops and some decorations.

So I started cooking. By 2:00 PM I was already rushing because Mike’s will go home by 3:00 pm. I already called the restaurant and ordered food to be delivered hopefully before Mike comes home. I was exchanging SMS with both Mike and his twin. I was asking Mike to do some errands just to delay his arrival. It was Sunday, so traffic was pretty light. He’ll be able to get home in 15 mins. At the same time, I was sending SMS to BIL and telling him that I am worried that the food won’t make it on time. Here’s the best part: I sent my message for BIL to Mike! Sigh, another epic fail, Maggie.

BIL and SIL did not come anymore because I thought the whole surprise was a big failure and besides, BIL was having rhinitis attack. The food arrived about 10 minutes before Mike arrived. When he did, I opened the door and we stared at each other for about three seconds and then we just started laughing. He just said, “so, did you turn pale, or did you faint?” (when I sent the message). I covered his eyes and showed him my would-be surprise.

Surprise!..I think.

Super Pops! I was rushing so some of the “S” looked like 5 or 7 or well, not “S”. hehe. I love the color though

Superdad
The good news is he still got surprised. He thought I was only going to make him some kwek kwek. Hehe. He was happy with the food and the preparation. So I guess, it wasn’t a big fail after all. And the saying “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” is indeed true. šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Surprise (?)

  1. Ang hirap mag-adjust sa shift ng mga husbands ntin ano? šŸ™‚
    OMG! did you turn blue and jumped up and down upon sending the text & hoped somehow that there was a recall button? hihi. Looks like your effort is well appreciated nmn, sis šŸ™‚
    I wish that one day, I could also say –> that the way to a man’s heart is thru his stomach šŸ™‚ hanggang pangarap nlng muna ako ngayon.

    1. haha. my jaw dropped and i stared for about 3 minutes sa reply nya na “huh?”. tapos nagawa ko na lang sagutin na “wala”. oh and yung most ng food binili pinadeliver ko. kwek kwek at cake pops lang yung naluto ko jan :p

Leave a Reply

