Happy foodie

I Can Cook! Bangus Sisig

Sisig is truly a Filipino dish. Originally a Kapampangan dish, this favorite pulutan (beer match) turned ulam (dish) was created by Lucia Cunanan, who’s more popularly known as Aling Lucing. I remember the times I would go to Pampanga for work and my co-workers and I would have sisig for lunch. There’s nothing, absolutely nothing, like sisig in Pampanga. I remember the time Anthony Bourdain featured the Philippines on his TV show and was wowed by Kapampangan sisig.

Sisig is originally made of pork. But just like adobo, it has evolved to many different variations such as  fish and chicken. next to pork sisig, I love bangus (milkfish) sisig. I’d say it’s the healthier version of the dish. As always, I looked up a recipe from my favorite food recipe blog, Panlasang Pinoy.

Here’s the recipe with a few changes that I made:

Ingredients:

  • 1 large fried deboned bangus (milkfish), meat separated from skin, then chopped
  • 1 cup diced red onions
  • 2 tablespoons crushed ginger
  • 1/4 cup leeks chopped
  • 1 siling labuyo, chopped (Thai chili) for medium heat
  • 1/2 cup chicharon (pork rind, but for this recipe I used chicken skin)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 black pepper
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • A few squeezes of calamansi, lime or lemon
  1. Melt butter in a pan. Put in onions and let it cook for about three minutes.
  2. Add ginger.
  3. Add the chopped bangus meat and stir.
  4. Mix in garlic powder, salt, pepper, and soy sauce.
  5. Add leeks and chili.
  6. Add mayonnaise and mix well.
  7. Remove from fire and serve. Squeeze citrus and mix well before serving
  8. Enjoy eating.

Initially, hubby didn’t want me to cook bangus sisig because he’d prefer pork. But he gave me the thumbs up when he was eating it. He said it was good. I was supposed to take a picture of the dish before getting devoured by Mike and his dad. Unfortunately, this is what was left for me to document:

drool-worthy
At least that tells me they really enjoyed what I cooked for them. 🙂 Thanks for the comments, Hun!

6 thoughts on “I Can Cook! Bangus Sisig

  1. Wow, galing! Will try nga this one. 🙂

    But cooking pork sisig is tedious. Someone cooked for me once when I was in Abu Dhabi, kapampangan style. Parang hindi ko kakayanin ang tagal sa pagchop. Haha!

Leave a Reply

