Mommy musings

My Early Christmas Wish List

And just like that, Christmas can be seen and heard in the Philippines.

I recall a homily last year about celebrating Christmas early in the Philippines. The priest said that here in our country, we celebrate Christmas for four months. True enough, at the onset of September, the first song that I heard on the radio was the immortal “Christmas in Our Hearts” (whyyyyy???). I have also noticed that some malls have started to discreetly display Christmas items alongside some Halloween masks. Twitter and Facebook were bombarded with people tweeting and posting “Merry Christmas” on September 1. Wow. And my husband was one of those who posted that. Double wow.

Now don’t get me wrong. Christmas is my most favorite time of the year. I like seeing twinkling Christmas lights on streets. I feel warm all over when I hear Christmas carols (except for one song). And it makes me feel like a gleeful little girl whenever I see Santa Claus displays. Suffice to say, I LOVE Christmas.

And that inspired me to make a list of things that I want to have for Christmas or for the Christmas season. It’s a little different from my wishlist last year. Of course, I haven’t included my wish and silent prayers for my family. Maybe it’s worthy of a separate post.

1. A Christmas tree.

Photo from Pinterest

Ok maybe not as extravagant like this one, but I have to admit, it’s a really pretty tree. We didn’t have one last year except for my pwede na, DIY, wall decor. Even a small tree with cute ornaments would do. Something that I won’t feel bad if the Little Jedi starts playing with it. For me, Christmas without a tree is like a fiesta without the pansit.

2. Matching pyjamas.

Photo from Pinterest
Photo from Pinterst

Aren’t these cute? I want matching pyjamas for the three of us to wear on Christmas and New Year’s eve. I wonder where can I get something like these?

3. An upside-down bookshelf.

Photo from Crib Candy

I saw this online and I want this to be my DIY project for December. Hubby is not too excited about this but I think it’s brilliant. I’ll have to convince him more to agree on this one because I would need his help assembling the shelf.

4. A visit to Divisoria or Greenhills…two months before Christmas. I always plan to go to those two places before Christmas so I can buy nice gifts for friends and family. Unfortunately, for the past three year, that has never happened. I always end up buying last minute, over-priced gifts on over-crowded malls. This year, I want to free myself from all the frenzy in malls during the holidays.

5. A visit to Powerplant Mall. From the time I started taking my graduate studies in Rockwell until I finished it, I would alwasys go to Powerplant Mall in December. Have you been there during the Christmas season? It’s lovely! They fill the place with hundreds of potted red poinsettia plants. I am not really a fan of the plant, but when I see them in rows, it’s beautiful. The ambiance is effortlessly Christmas. It’s been four years since I graduated and I haven’t been back to Powerplant again. I wish this year I can go there and I also hope that they still incorporate the plant in their interior holiday design. (Too bad I do not have a picture of the plants inside the mall in December).

6. A photowall.

Photo from Pinterest

This is another DIY project. Lucas has hundreds, probably thousands of photos in our computer. And how many frames are on display at home? Three. I’ve always wanted to have a nice photo wall. I think it will make our cozy little place more interesting (along with the upside-down bookshelf.

7. A bag.

Photo from Pinterest

That’s the wishlist for the girlie-me. I bought two, relatively affordable bags on sale this year. (Take note, affordable na, on sale pa!) Both have shown signs of tearing. I am not a bag-person but I would like a really nice bag that will be able to take all the abuse of carrying my things.

8. A small gum paste roller.

Photo from Pinterest

I have recently started practicing with gum paste for my pops. I just realized a good roller should be the first one that I need to have. Maybe I’ll put this on my wishlist for our team’s annual kris kringle.

9. A Christmas playdate

Grabbed from Em πŸ™‚

I will write about our most recent playdate on my next post. In the meantime you can check Em’s post about it. In a nutshell, it was sooo much fun. I think it would be more fun if we have one on December too!

10. A family reunion

I mentioned in one of my posts that my relatives on my father’s side would always set a family reunion during Christmas. We weren’t able to attend the reunion since I got pregnant and last year, there was none. Christmas, to me, should be celebrated with family. Besides, it’s a family tradition that I hope us, the second generation, would continue.

What about you? Have you written down a wishlist for Christmas?

13 thoughts on “My Early Christmas Wish List

  1. i want another playdate, too. Christmas partey! With monito-monita for the kids and the mommies (oops, and the daddies rin pala). Haay, pasko na naman πŸ™‚

      1. Oo nga! Daddies should be the one to host the Playdate naman πŸ™‚
        Monito-Monita sounds good, too! πŸ™‚

        Pareho tayo, I also end up buying the last minute. Thank God for Bazaars. Hindi kasi ako makapunta ng Divi at mahirap magbitbit ng little girl. hehe. Ui, I also want to learn how to decorate 3D toppers using gum paste πŸ™‚

  2. Love the upside down bookshelf! πŸ™‚ I’m hitting Divisoria this weekend and my insides are shaking with excitement. I know exagg! hehe. well that’s because it’s been a decade since I last set foot in Divisoria. I hope I still know my way around. hehe.

Leave a Reply

