Mommy musings

Favorite Books: The Giving Tree

I rarely do book reviews because, frankly, I don’t know how to give one. But I want to share with our favorite books. Being the bookworm that I am, I am passionate about encouraging Lucas’ interest in books too. So I guess, I have a lot to share. (Fingers crossing)

Today, I’ll share about The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. It’s second on the list of top 100 books of all time. I was hunting for this in Booksale but to no success. Good thing our company held a book fair and Powerbooks, the sponsor, was willing to take requests. Lo and behold, on the first day of the sale, my requested books were bagged and ready.

The Giving Tree is a simple black and white book with simple illustration but the message is clear and heartfelt. It’s about unconditional love: just giving all that you have and not asking anything in return.

the giving tree
Grabbed from Pinterest

The book is a little heavy for a one-year old, but I feel it’s good to start teaching him the value of generosity and finding happiness with it. I got a little teary-eyed towards the end because I want to be like that tree to my family. It was even more significant because it was like a mother giving to a son, a young boy.

Here is my favorite page in the book:

The Giving Tree
Grabbed from Pintest

I highly recommend this book. I think it’s the kind of book that you and your kids will both love. It’s the kind of book you want to pass on to your children and to their children.

Leave a Reply

