Mom at work · Mommy musings

Better Days and “Chocolate Cakes”

Not everyday is a good day for everyone. There will be times when you feel you woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Sometimes you feel you are waking up on the same wrong side everyday.

Lately, things have been quite challenging:Β  me, getting some medication, with work literally overflowing in a day making me miss my targets, with the Little Jedi currently being sick, and more. It’s a struggle, really, to keep my spirit up, when everything seems to just pull it down. How ironic that I teach Stress Management when, times like these, stress gets the worst of me. I am like the smoking doctor who tells people not to smoke. (er, no I don’t really smoke)

It’s difficult, really to have a more positive perspective of things when life proves to be challenging. But you see, like what I tell my training participants, it’s a perspective. It can be real or imagined. Only I can tell if it’s a good day or a bad day.Β  That’s one of the biggest realizations I had. I need to change perspectives when needed, and I need to consciously do it. I tried to focus on what is good and worth celebrating in a day.
Here are some on my list lately:

  • I have a beautiful child and a wonderful family
  • My son has a great pediatrician whom I can really trust
  • My son’s milestones
  • My son’s smiles and laughter
  • My son dancing to the tune of Gangnam Style
  • I have work
  • I have family and friends who stand by me
  • I learned to cook a new dish
  • My son and husband likes my cooking
  • I get to see my favorite people everyday
  • I have hobbies to distract me when necessary
  • New friends (personal or cyber)
  • My son asking me to carry him
  • Warmth of home
  • At the end of the day, there is always my family

Recently, I’ve reminded myself of abundance thinking by Michael Hyatt. I am teaching this but I keep forgetting it. I’m am in the process of being an abundance thinker. Let me share with my three favorite characteristics of an abundance thinker:

  • They ask themselves, How can I give more than is expected?
  • They are optimistic about the future, believing the best is yet to come.
  • They are thankful and confident.

Life will never be as smooth as I would want it to be. That is one of the biggest truths in life. But who tells you if it is smooth or rough, perfect or scarred, good or bad? No one but you. Changing perspective is as difficult as deciding to write with you less dominant hand. Is it possible to change perspectives? Yes. Is it achievable? Yes.

I was hesitant to write this post thinking I only want to document and share life’s celebrations. But then I thought maybe some other reader might be experiencing the same challenges and needs…well, company. I was also hoping that this will serve as a reminder to myself that, once, I have conquered doubt, insecurity, and frustration towards life.True enough, after listing down by reasons to celebrate, I do feel much more optimistic.

Misery may love company, but chocolate cakes can change your perception about life. My chocolate cakes are the ones listed above. What about you? What are your chocolate cakes?

My top chocolate cake
Chocolate Chocolate Cake
Grabbed from Pinterest

Know more about abundance thinking here.

13 thoughts on “Better Days and “Chocolate Cakes”

  1. hi maggie. here’s to sending you a big and warm cyber hug. hope you are feeling better now. it must be viral, or something is wrong with the current position of the moon coz it seems like a lot of people are in their lows recently. i love your “chocolate cakes” and this post made me feel better, too! God bless you πŸ™‚

    1. Naku Maqui don’t feel bad! Baking is one of my chocolate cakes. Hindi lang nakalagay. But really, it takes my mind off my worries. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Maggie! Had a looooong day too! — I don’t know if its the “bipolar weather” or if its my withdrawal from sugary stuff! =( But I sure am glad I read your post to make me see things in a different perspective. Just like you, I need to be reminded of my chocolate cakes (figuratively and literally — I am a chocoholic! Just the sight of it makes me happy!) and I agree that “chocolate cakes” make life a little less “blah”… Cyber hug from me to you! Feel better soon Maggie!! πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you!! I do feel much better now. And yes, chocolate cakes, literal and figurative, do make us feel good. I am also a chocoholic πŸ˜€ Here’s a cyberhug to you too! Happy weekend!

  3. I am down in the dumps too because of maid woes. 2 weeks of stress dealing with a ‘bad attitude’ maid. =( but I finally got rid of my source of stress, we sent her home last night! Now on to good times despite going back to doing the household chores again myself…

    Anyway, I will just have my list of ‘chocolate cakes’ to make feel better because having the real one would just add the unnecessary poundage. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for sharing about abundance thinking. =)

  4. Hope you’re all better now Maggie! πŸ™‚ That’s great–always look at the bright things in life. I’ve only recently realized and accepted that life will always throw us lemons. Up to us to make lemonades out of them.

    Get well soon! Magti-trick or treat pa tayo πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Maggie,

    I hope you’re feeling better by now πŸ™‚ I don’t have any idea why I missed this post but I’m glad I am able to read it now.
    If only I could go to your condo to give you a warm hug, i will. For now, I hope cyber hugs would do πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

