Happy foodie

I Can Cook! Cereal Prawns

I am not much of a fan of Singaporean dishes. In fact, of all Asian cuisines, it’s my least favorite. There is one dish that I like, though. A Singaporean guest visited our office once. We took her to Banana Leaf Curry and she introduced me to cereal prawns.

Oooh how I love this dish. It’s salty, and sweet, and sometimes spicy. The best part of course is the prawns. I’ve been racking my mind figuring out how this dish is made. Until I was able to talk to my friend who is in Singapore right now. She told me her mom’s coming home to the Philippines and asked me what I wanted because apparently, her mom lived in the same condominium where we live. I jokingly told her that I wanted cereal prawns. So she said she’s send some over. At first I thought she meant she’ll send me cooked prawns (I know, I know. That was a bobo-moment there). She sent me not one, but two packs of the cereals used for the dish.

The instructions are pretty simple but some of the ingredients are something that I cannot easily find in the market (like curry leaves and some kind of chili). So I improvised!

Ingredients

  • Prawns (or medium-sized shrimps)
  • Cereal prawns…erm..cereals
  • 3 tbps butter
  • Chili leaves
  • Labuyo (if you want it spicy)
  • A dash of pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  1. Remove the head and legs of the prawns.
  2. Fry each side of the prawn for a minute.
  3. Remove the prawns from the pan, as well as the oil.
  4. Melt the butter in the pan.
  5. Saute the chili leaves.
  6. Toss in the prawns.
  7. Add the cereals and cook for two more minutes. Add the ground pepper and sugar.
  8. Serve and enjoy because we did!

Even the Little Jedi liked it because I decided not to make it spicy. But my meat-loving carnivore of a husband enjoyed it. 🙂

Special thanks to Moppet! Thank you for sending the packs! I still have one pack left. I hope I did the dish justice. Heehee.

2 thoughts on “I Can Cook! Cereal Prawns

Leave a Reply

