Mommy musings

Tips about Pregnancy and Neophite Mommyhood

When I was pregnant I did not get much guidance on what will happen after birth. I haven’t started reading mommy blogs yet so I was close to clueless. I have to admit I had a difficult time during Lucas’ first month. I felt alone and I experienced postpartum depression. Until now, I feel bad about not getting the happy, high feeling of being a new mom. I felt much much better after discovering Maqui’s blog and other mommy blogs. Finally, I felt I was not alone anymore. I told myself that I will give support to friends or family who will be first time moms because I do not want them to experience the same thing.

So what are the things that I learned as a newbie pregnant woman/newbie mom? Let me share these to soon-to-be first-time moms. šŸ™‚

  1. The first trimester is the toughest. The next would be the last trimester.
  2. Do not listen to pregnancy myths. The weird ones that I heard were not to eat watermelon because my baby will get patches, not to eat squid with its ink or may baby will get dark, and not to eat papaya because it will cause miscarriage. On the contrary, I ate watermelon and squid and my baby’s skin is clean and smooth and fair; papaya helped me a lot with my constipation battle.
  3. The first month after birth will be emotionally and physically challenging. A newbie mom should have a support group to help her get through mood swings, postpartum depression, and not to mention, take care of the baby to let her recover well.
  4. Breastfeeding is good. Very, very, very, very beneficial to both mom and baby. Again, having a support group will help a lot.
  5. Postpartum depression should never be ignored.
  6. Some of the most important and useful baby stuff to buy are often ignored like a digital thermometer, a nebulizer and in my case, a very good breast pump.
  7. Reading helps moms or pregnant women avoid getting anxious. Choose the right reading materials, though, because some can make you feel more anxious.
  8. Remove or do not put any nail polish on your fingernails and toenails, even the clear ones, on your third trimester.
  9. Drinking cold water will NOT make your tummy bigger.
  10. Whatever is scaring you about motherhood on your first week as a new mom, just keep telling yourself, everything is going to be alright.
6 thoughts on “Tips about Pregnancy and Neophite Mommyhood

  1. Good for you being able to admit that you had PPD. It is so important for mom’s to talk about, but so often they are too embarassed. It is great that you are so open! I hope your journey as a mom just gets better and better! Why can’t you use clear/nail polish in last trimester? I’ve never heard that one…

  2. Hi Charlotte. Actually, nurses would remove the nail polish in the hospital when moms are about to give birth. The doctor needs to see if the color on the finger tips change, like it’s getting blue. The reason why moms are recommended not to wear nail polish on the third trimester anymore is because there is a possibility of giving birth anytime (and in some emergency cases). Not wearing nail polish just makes the delivery process more convenient for both the doctor and the mom. šŸ™‚

  3. I also had no idea about being a mom when I had Kelly. I didn’t read mommy blogs too so I was lost and felt alone. I think I experienced PPD too, but I wasn’t sure if it was all in my head or what. I’m more prepared with our second now, though. And I’m glad I’ve discovered a lot of mommy blogs already! Magandang support group talaga.

    1. So true. I forgot to include nga here that Daddies are programmed not panic and be paranoid. Unfortunately, for newbie moms, well at least I, felt like he was ignoring me hehe

  4. oh, i didnt know about the nail polish. thanks for sharing!
    ako naman i read a lot during the pregnancy but none of the books or seminars prepared me for how dificult nd fulfilling caring for a newborn was!

Leave a Reply

