Mommy musings

Looking Back

According to the Chinese Zodiac, 2012 was the year for my sign. I am no Chinese nor do I depend 100% in Zodiac predictions but I always read about my sign. 2012 was like any other year for me but if I look closely, a lot of blessings did come our way this year.

I am taking this time to look back at the year that was to be grateful and to look forward to this year. I will not say that it was an easy year, because it wasn’t, especially at work. I have to admit that 2012 was probably the most difficult time for me at work and stress level is way above the ceiling. I do not want to focus on that. I’d rather focus on the people, things, and experiences I had that made me say, “Life is great”.

I am grateful for family who stood by us, made us laugh, made us feel loved. I am grateful for old friends who consistently made me laugh, and think, and talk, and listen, and then laugh again. I am grateful for new friends whom I never expect to meet and share my thoughts with. The world is full of wonderful people.

I am grateful for our marriage. It had its ups and downs, but we manage to keep it up. At the end of the day, we will always go back to our reasons for saying “I do” and “Yes”.

I am grateful for our happy little family. I am grateful for the joy we brought to our son and the joy he brought to us last year. I am grateful for the abundance of love that we have for each other including some inanimate objects. I am grateful for our good health and safety.

I am grateful for the opportunities we had to grow, develop and learn. Life will forever be evolving, and I am thankful that for every time we fall, we stand up and learn to walk again before we run.

I am grateful for the material blessings that we received. They always make life a little more interesting.

I am grateful for the challenges we had to face. More importantly, I am grateful that we were able to overcome them.

Last night, we started a new tradition of lighting up our 12 wishes, goals for the new year. We offered these wishes through a prayer and being thankful for 2012.

IMG_2958

IMG_3003

The Chinese Zodiac said 2013 will be a tough year for my sign. In my mind that only means one thing: I work harder and make our lives better than what the predictions say. In fact even without those predictions, that is what we should always do. Pray hard, set goals, work on those goals, enjoy life.

What I love about the new year is that it is always a sign of hope, of new things to come, wonderful things to appreciate, and opportunities to take. Let’s celebrate the year that was and new year.

From our family to yours, happy new year!

8 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

