Mommy musings

I Can Cook! Mango Chocolate Cups

I love reading recipes on cans or cartons of food products. When I was young, I would always cut the tomato-based recipes on tomato sauce cans. I would always look at the free Kitchenomics recipes and even collected them. Although it took two decades before I finally learned how to cook, the intention of wanting to learn how to cook has always been there.

And it hasn’t changed until now. I would always look at the recipes on milk cartons, sauce packs, etc. I saw this recipe from Nestle All Purpose Cream while I was making fruit salad for media noche. It’s a no-bake, no-cook dessert and it has chocolates and mangoes in the recipe so I took a picture of the recipe and decided to make it today.

As always, I made some changes in the ingredients based on what I have in our kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • 250 ml Nestle All Purpose Cream
  • 2 pieces ripe mangoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp unflavored gelatin
  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • 1/4 cup hot water

IMG_3061

  • Grate the chocolate to melt easier. You can melt it in the microwave, double boiler or by simply putting a glass bowl with chocolate in a bowl of hot water. I did the latter. Just make sure that no water will drip in the chocolate, otherwise, it will not melt well.
  • Pour the melted chocolate in small paper cups (the ones used for mini-cupcakes). Spread it even up to the sides of the cup. Chill in the fridge for 10 minutes.

IMG_3062

  • Puree the mangoes. Add the all-purpose cream and lemon juice.

IMG_3063

  • Sprinkle the gelatin in cold water to bloom. Dissolve in hot water afterwards.
  • Whisk the gelatin mixture into the mango mixture.
  • Fill the chocolate cups with the mixture. Let it set in the fridge for two hours.

IMG_3064

The tangy-sweetness of the mangoes and the bittersweet chocolate tastes so good together. It’s well set and so easy to eat. See the big cups above? Those are mine <Insert sinister laugh here>.

IMG_3065

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “I Can Cook! Mango Chocolate Cups

  1. Ooooh nice! Oh my gosh MUST STOP THINKING OF FOOD!!! Thanks for this Maggie! I think I’m gonna try those with banana… Carry kaya?
    Happy new year!!! =)

    1. I think bananas would go nice pero siguro choose the ripest bananas you can find.Parang pag gagawa ng banana bread. Yung pinakasoft and ripe na ang gamitin mo para hindi mapakla. It has lemon juice naman so it won’t turn brownish. I think strawberries will also work in this recipe 🙂 Let me know if successful yung banana ha? 🙂

Leave a Reply

