Little Jedi

Lucas at Gymboree: Trial Class

I have always wanted to enroll Lucas to Gymboree. Even when he was still in my tummy, that has already been part of my plan. When I shared this to Doc Vienne, she approved of it saying it would help Lucas develop his social skills. Admittedly, he is not as friendly to friends or family who approach him. That is one of the downsides of being in a nuclear family, Doc Vienne said. So last November, I inquired in Gymboree Greenbelt 5.

We took a trial class to see how he feels about the environment and so I can also see how the play class goes. Much to my delight, we found out that Mars and Lia would be in the class too.

IMG_2051[1]

There are several activities in the class: singing, going through the kiddie course, and Gymboree signature activities. Each class has a specific learning focus area. During the trial class, it was about circles and rounds.

Lia has been attending classes for several months already and you can see how active she is during the activities. Lucas, on the other hand, got a little shy.

IMG_2053[1]

The teacher was very encouraging and seeing that Lucas was a newbie, encouraged him to do the activities even if he was hesitant. She even adjusted some areas in the course so Lucas can complete it. There was a part where he had to pass through a cloth tube and Lucas was afraid to crawl through it. So she adjusted to make it shorter and less intimidating for Lucas.

IMG_2070[1]

IMG_2071[1]

When they started singing the bubble song, the Little Jedi lost all shyness and from then on, he was much more relaxed and started enjoying the activities.

IMG_2103[1]IMG_2105[1]IMG_2108[1]

Lucas liked the slides, the singing, and all the space to run around. There were cushions everywhere so the area was pretty safe. I like that it was an adult-child class. Not only the children get to have some fun, the adults do too. After the class, the children can stay in the area to play. That is Lucas’ favorite.

IMG_2085[1]IMG_2092[1]IMG_2123[1]IMG_2141[1]

After the trial class, we decided to enroll Lucas to Gymboree. We ended the day with a nice dinner with the Ilagans. πŸ™‚

IMG_2172[1]IMG_2164[1]

I’ll share our other Gymbo experiences in succeeding posts. πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Lucas at Gymboree: Trial Class

  1. Don’t worry, cuz Lucas will develop his social skills sooner or later. πŸ™‚

    Ang cute nila tingnan ni Lia together! Hopefully by next month ma-enroll na din namin si Cyler, ang problem kasi namin may work madalas si Cj ng weekends. And we we’re thinking baka lalong mag-hyper at dumaldal si Cyler. Haha!

  2. This is so cute Mommy Maggie. Actually, my eyes is set on Kindermusik kasi when I was pregnant, they had a demo in one of Mothercare’s seminars and I love it. But now I have another option at may free trial pa pala.

    1. I like Kindermusik too. It’s a little far lang from our place. I think nearest is in Podium. πŸ™‚ yup get the trial class then check which one you like best. For Ashley’s age, they will probably recommend the music class too πŸ™‚

  3. Gudjab Lucas and Mommy Maggie! I also planned to enroll Maia to either Gymboree or Kindermusik but that never panned out. Mahirap for commuters like us kasi. We ended up enrolling in a Parent-child program at a Waldorf daycare instead which turned out to be just the right fit for us na din. But in case you want to try pa rin Kindermusik, I know there’s a weekend class in Ayala Alabang (Teacher Ana is the teacher in that class I believe) and I know there’s also another class in Mindbuilders school in Pque (not sure tho if may weekend session). I know Kindermusik holds trial classes din not sure lang if they are for free.

    1. Thanks Faye! I will look those up in the internet for the schedule and location. πŸ™‚ for now I think Lucas is having a good start in Gymboree. Ang next target ko is a good formal school here at the south. πŸ™‚

  4. Looks like they had a blast! Winner talaga ang Gymboree and Kindermusik as Ive have heard from friends.I think both are okay =) Oh no… malapit na maging big boy talaga si Lucas… =) Savor Savor!

Leave a Reply

