Mommy musings

Mike Can Cook! Mango Salsa

Yep! You read it right. This post is not about my cooking but this time, it’s about Mike’s. He’s actually a far better cook than me. My favorite would be his version of beef salpicao. I think that’s how he wooed me. Haha..waitaminute. Maybe he put gayuma in it! Hmmm. Anyway, I hope he allows me to share the recipe with you . I shared the meat sauce recipe here.

He did agree when I asked him if I can share with you the recipe of the dish, actually a side, that we had for our new year lunch. I think this is the first time that the side dish outshone the main protein. I even ended up eating just the salsa. It was that good and I’m not saying this because I am the chef’s wife.

This refreshing salsa is perfect for grilled or steamed seafood (fish, shrimp, maybe even mollusks) and grilled pork. We had it with Cajun shrimps. The best part about the salsa is that it is so easy to make.

Ingredients

  • 3 medium size mangoes, sliced into small cubes
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 medium size bell peppers, sliced into small cubes
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and sliced into small cubes
  • 1 cup of cilantro (wansuy), chopped
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 Thai chili (labuyo), chopped or a few drops of tabasco (this is optional if you don’t like it spicy)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Toss everything in a big bowl.
  2. Add the lemon, salt and pepper and chili.
  3. Let it chill in the fridge for about 15 minutes.
  4. And that’s it! Shortest procedure ever. 🙂

For the Cajun shrimps, we made it the easiest way, possible. We bought a McCormick Cajun mix, marinated the shrimps in it, and pan fried the shrimps. Serve it with the salsa and enjoy!

IMG_3036

Here are additional cooking tips for you:

  • Before you juice a lemon or lime, press it down using the palm of your hand on a cutting board, and roll it several times. This will release the juices and make it easier to squeeze.
  • Shrimps should be cooked for two minutes on each side only. That’s when you’ll get the best texture of the shrimp.
  • Never rub your eyes when you are chopping chilis. Some chilis are so hot that they can actually burn your skin. If that happens, wash it off with milk. NEVER wash it with water. It will only make things worse.
8 thoughts on “Mike Can Cook! Mango Salsa

  1. I hope your Mike and my Mike (Tibs is Michael Angelo in real life wahaha may ganun) can bond on our next playdate. Para maturuan nya ng recipe na to and ng iba pang recipes! (my husband is probably the only Kapampangan who can’t cook) 😀

  2. Maggie! We make this salsa at home too — but with fried fish! Have you tried? I’ll try making this again with Mikes soshal shrimp recipe. =) Thanks for sharing! =)

    1. I haven’t pero it does sound like a good combination. I just thought of steamed fish next time. Pero sarap talaga nung salsa. Shrimps just sound soshal but it’s just the magic of mccormick. Hehe

Leave a Reply

