Mommy musings

Les Miserables and Moi

No, I will not talk about the controversial interview. I think a lot of people have shared their sentiments about it in every social media platform there is. I have heard enough and have shared my own sentiments about it to Mike. Patty shared her opinion whimsically here. I am going to share how I feel about the film.

I’ve been waiting for the movie to be shown since I first read about it. I am a sucker for musicals. The last one I saw was the Phantom of the Opera. If I was a billionaire (enter Bruno Mars’ song), I would fly to New York and watch every Broadway show there is. IF I was a Billionaire. I content myself with the ones that I can watch here in Manila not to mention I can afford. So a film like Les Miserables excites me.

Les Misérables Movie Poster

I’ve heard a lot of buzz about the classic Victor Hugo film, with big Hollywood stars. What intrigued me more is when I read that they did not record the songs in a studio, like musicals normally would (Hairspray, Phantom of the Opera). Instead, they recorded the song while the actors are singing it on set while acting.

So there I was with my friends, excited when I heard the trumpets from “Look Down” and hoping nobody sings during the film.

How was it?

Excellent.

Recording the songs while being sung by the actors was a brilliant idea. Most of the major cast members are good singers, but not as good as those whose career is in singing. Some are technically trained and have been to musicals. But the rawness of the songs made each of them more emotional and more convincing. There are parts of the movie where the actors may not be hitting the high notes or catching their breaths because they were so emotional, but it works. Personally, I think that’s what made the movie so great.

I give kudos to the actors, the director (Tom Hooper) and the production team for making a great film like this. It is, for me, the best movie adaptation of a musical in this generation.

The 2 hours 45 mins movie was heavy, sung throughout the film, emotional, raw. If you haven’t seen it, it’s still shown in major cinemas here in the Philippines.

Now, if they only bring the Broadway cast here in the Philippines.

4 thoughts on “Les Miserables and Moi

  1. Was never really into musicals until I came across The sound of music. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I am secretly hoping that pirates have uploaded it on the net and is available for downloaD. Matutuwa for sure si bagets kahit mapapakinggan lng niya muna for now.

Leave a Reply

