Little Jedi

Lucas’ Birthday Celebration

It’s been days since I last made a post. I actually missed out on several musings that I like to write about: my birthday letter to Lucas, Lucas’ birthday celebration, new cake pop designs, our fun Sunday playdate, silly blog titles, my daily soundtrack, etc. It won’t do me any good if I delay further, right? So let me share with you how we celebrated the Little Jedi’s 2nd birthday.

I’ve been thinking of several ways how to celebrate his birthday: a party maybe? Not as big as his first birthday party but knowing the number of people we know, family and friends included, it’s not going to be a small celebration. Besides, I did want to start the year with simple, uncomplicated things. Fine. Scrap big parties.

How about out-of-town celebration? I enjoy my other mom-blogger friends’ recent travel posts: Mars, Badet, even Faye’s Tagaytay trip. Thanks to our busy schedule it wasn’t also possible. So I thought, if I were a two-year old, with working parents, how do I want to spend my birthday? I told myself, with us. His parents. And a couple of animals (because that’s what he likes). Mike wasn’t so convinced when I told him about a petting zoo, so I pitched in Manila Ocean Park. I guess it sounded more appealing to him so he agreed.

Now here’s a birthday fail. Days before Luke’s birthday, our camera broke down. Good thing we were able to borrow Patty’s and Tita Sha’s camera. Nothing’s worse than celebrating birthdays without a decent camera to document the celebration. Thank you, both for your generosity. 🙂

On the day of Lucas’ birthday, I made my first cake pop…er..cake for the Birthday Boy.

IMG_3278[1]

I promised him we’d spend time with him so after going to church at 6:00 AM, we spent the rest of the morning swimming. I wasn’t feeling quite well, but so what. After a few shots of the Little Boy and Dadi, I jumped in. The water was STILL cold but Lucas did not mind.

IMG_3314[1]

Unlike Ocean Park in Hong Kong, Manila Ocean park does not have an entrance fee, but every area does. Mike got a good deal from a relative and we got tickets to four areas. As soon as we got in, Lucas was in awe. Even I was in awe with the first fish that we saw. I forgot the name but it was HUGE. These are the fish that I watch Jeremy Wade of River Monster catch.

IMG_5142
Didn’t get the name of the fish but it’s about 8ft long!
IMG_5173
That’s a gigil smile, not a scared face 🙂

Lucas liked walking by the aquariums. He was reaching out, trying to touch the fish.

IMG_5188 IMG_5213 IMG_5226 IMG_5151

IMG_5261

We had tickets for a sea lion show but Lucas wasn’t amused. I was also a little disappointed because it was outdoor with insufficient shade and with only two sea lions in the show.

When we passed by Duty Free (yes, there is a Duty Free in Ocean Park), where souvenirs and toys can be found, Lucas immediately took a detour to the toys. I was giving him one of those big penguin or octopus toys but the little boy held on to this guy. So we got him. Welcome to the family, Basti.

IMG_3316[1]

After Ocean Park, we went to meet Mama and my sister in MOA where we had our dinner. Lucas showed off to his Mama and Ninang.

IMG_5314 IMG_5311

Part of me wished I still pushed for the party. But smiles like these made me think otherwise. Methinks my Little Jedi enjoyed our simple celebration. 🙂

IMG_5159

IMG_5207

Happy birthday, my Little Jedi! I hope you enjoyed your day 🙂

6 thoughts on “Lucas’ Birthday Celebration

  1. Oh i think it was just the perfect way to celebrate your little Jedi’s bday! I dunno if it’s just a girl thing but wait lang in a year or two, he might start asking and planning for parties himself so reserve mo na ang party planning energy mo for the years to come 😉

Leave a Reply

