Mommy musings

Coming Home and Mami’s Trinkets

Every time I come home to Cavite, it’s one of the greatest feelings in the world. The comfort of being in a familiar place is soothing. Every thing feels different. My old bed feels softer and I sleep better, the food tastes great (well my mom is a great cook), relaxing is so much easy to do. I am sure that a lot of people can relate to this feeling especially when they have moved out of home and migrated in a totally different world.

We’ve been living in the southern part of Metro Manila for five years already. My parents’ house are far southern. We get to visit every now and then especially on holidays. Last weekend was an unplanned visit and I am so glad we did it.

Of all the times that we visited home, I only became nostalgic with last weekend’s visit. Let me share this so Lucas will see the future vintage artifacts that Mami had. It’s Throwback Thursday, anyways. Maybe some of you can relate to it πŸ™‚

I saw my old CD collection. I do not know what will be the future of music and film recording, but CD was the most revolutionary storage after the floppies and cassettes. Too bad I wasn’t able to take a picture of our old turntable and records. Who knew you could save hundreds of songs in a player that can fit in your hand? By the time Lucas gets to read this, I wonder how small the players are and what format would the songs be?

20130312-072213.jpg
Here is my shelf with my personal trinkets.

20130312-072418.jpg
I finished a lot of cross-stitched projects but that Cookie Monster design is my favorite.

I collected St. Gabriel angel figurines because he is my archangel.Β Β  Hence, naming my child “Gabriel”. Some are outside my room and displayed in the living room.

IMG_3809[1]

I had Archie Digests. Lots of it! Books. Lots of it! I wasn’t able to take a picture because they were in my sister’s room.

Next time we visit Cavite again, I’ll take more pictures of my stationary collection, letters from high school, student IDs and of course, old pictures.

12 thoughts on “Coming Home and Mami’s Trinkets

  1. RELATE! When I moved out of our house (now our home — at last) when I got married I would always look forward to weekends. Sacred ang weekends because I get to go home and spend time with my sister and Dad. I get to sleep on my bed and I agree — no place like home =)
    Ps
    The cross stitched cookie monster is so cute!

  2. I have to agree! Really no place like home. And up to now, I still refer to my childhood home – my real HOME πŸ™‚ I guess, the home we call now is for Maia to claim as her real HOME. And yes like you I get overly nostalgic when I come home.

  3. Oh homesickness! Your fortunate to still be living in Luzon. I’m here in the Visayas and wishing that I could also go home on weekends. ^^ BTW, I’m from Cavite too. Where’s your place? πŸ™‚

  4. I can so relate to this, cuz! I was about to post our weekend in my hometown(but still sitting in my draft) and I’ve got the same feeling too! Imagine I live there for 22 yrs of my life so kapag umuuwi kami dun mas excited pako sa excited! Iba talaga ang feeling eh– nostalgic. You’re right. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

