Mommy musings

What I Want to Be When You Grow Up

…is to be wise. Wise enough to know when to say yes and when to say no. Wise enough to listen and understand. Wise enough to keep holding on and to let go when needed. Wise enough so you will learn what you need to learn from a mother.

…is to be able to accept the fact that you have grown up. You are my baby now and I am enjoying every single minute of it. I want to be ready to let go of my baby and welcome a grown up son.

…is to be open about your decisions. The moment you realize you can make a choice, I want to be open-minded about them. You are free to make decisions, to make choices. I do not want to keep you in a bubble.

…is to have taught you to make the right decisions and take accountability for them. If you don’t know what is right and wrong, you can always ask me and Dad.

…is to have gained your trust. There will be times when I will say yes to you. There will be times when I would say no. There will be times when I expect you to do things even if you don’t want to. Please remember that every thing, every thing that I ask you to do is for your best interest.

…is to be ready when you learn to love. More than just that, I want to be ready when you get hurt. I want to make sure that I am at your back or right beside you (wherever you want me to be) as you learn life’s lessons. I cannot prepare you not to be hurt. Nobody ever gets prepared for that. But I wish I have helped you be the person who would opt to learn and see the silver linings.

…is to be genuinely happy letting you go. Right now, you run away from me and I always run after you. Because you’re just two. A time will come when you will decide to literally move out and walk away from us because you will live your adult life. It’s probably going to hurt like hell, but I want to be ready and happy when you walk away and not run after you anymore.

…is also to be that someone you would choose to run back to when you need to. I will be here, son. All the time.

…is to be able to give you the greatest memories you would have in your life.

…is to be able to admit I am wrong when I am wrong.

….is not to be the greatest nor the best mom in the world. But I want to be the mother that you will always be proud of having. I hope I have done my darn best to be that mom.

…is to make you feel that I love you to the moon and back, every second, always, for all time.

10 thoughts on “What I Want to Be When You Grow Up

Leave a Reply

