Happy foodie

Brasas: Latin American Street Food

When I was still single, I was an adventurous eater. Tagging my best friend along, or vice versa, we’d scout the metro for good eats. I was brave enough to try out the weirdest food. Heck, I’ve eaten camaro in Pampanga before. Enter husband.

Mike isn’t the adventurous eater that I am. He has a sensitive stomach and picky palette so most of the time we end up with usual burgers and fries during dine outs. I also had to be conscious where we eat when the Little Jedi is with us. I cannot be stopped trying out something new but the husband and the little boy are now taken into consideration. Good news is, I have a couple of good restaurants for dine outs with hubby, and family lunch or dinner. I’ll be sharing my restaurant finds in different posts starting with this one.

Brasas: Latin American Street Food

This is my favorite restaurant in Podium. It offers authentic Latin American cuisine. The first time Mike and I tried the food in Brasas, we were surprised by how big the servings were. The food is also really really tasty.

We tried the Chicken Rice Platter (Php 180) and Beef Rice Platter (Php 220). It’s grilled chicken or meat on a bed of Cuban rice with chimichurri sauce and a side of fresh slaw and patacones or fried plantains. The meat is so tender, well grilled and goes perfectly with the chimichurri. The rice is also very tasty. It’s nothing like I have before. Try this with chipotle sauce (you can ask it from the servers). Even if the serving is big, I surprised myself by finishing it every time (oink).

Beef rice platter
Photo grabbed from Brasas Facebook page

We have also tried their pequeño Grilled Beef Wrap (Php 190) and Grilled Chicken Wrap (Php150).

Photo grabbed from Brasas’ Facebook page

The wraps look small, but they are very filling, even the pequeño ones. Just like the rice platter, I finished this off effortlessly (double oink).

I asked my Latin American friends and they told me that Brasas food has the closest taste to the real Latin American street food. I am actually surprised by how affordable, filling and most of all yummy it is.

Brasas is on the 5th floor of Podium. It’s a small space but it looks like they are expanding. It’s hard to miss because it’s packed with people during lunch time. If you plan to have lunch there, better be early or be there at a later time to avoid a long queue.

Recommendation: Best during lunch or dinner or whenever you are really, really hungry.
Will I bring a toddler here? Not when he’s this young.

Brasas
Latin American Street Food
5th floor, The Podium, ADB Ave., Ortigas Center
Tel. 570-5559
Facebook Page

4 thoughts on “Brasas: Latin American Street Food

  1. I miss podium!!! Ever since I got married hindi nako nakapunta dyan, ang layo kasi sa Caloocan pero that’s one of our ultimate tambayan back in college days. And I wanna try the foood tooo, looks good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

