Happy foodie

Nolita: One of My Recent Favorites

I’ve read so much about Nolita from my favorite food bloggers. I am a self- confessed pizza kind-of-girl. I’d choose pizza over noodles, rice or burgers anytime. The only pizza that I will not eat would be those with fruit on it unless it’s a dessert pizza like the one that Max Brenner serves. When I read about Nolita, I knew I had to try it. Unfortunately, we seldom go to BHS.

Our plan last Saturday was to go to Yummy Eats at the NBC tent after Luke’s check up in St. Luke’s Global. For some reason, while I was lined up to get a ticket for the event, Lucas kept on pulling me out of the venue. I guess he didn’t like that there were so many people and there was loud music inside. Oh but I wanted to be there! When they hold the Yummy Eats again next year, I’ll probably go there alone or with a friend since my little man doesn’t appreciate events like that yet. Soon, anak. Soon, you’ll be a foodie like Mami.

Anyway, so we decided to go to BHS instead for lunch. I immediately thought of Nolita. Nolita stands for North of Little Italy. From what I read, it served New York style pizzas. When I saw the pizza spread (which were all freshly made),  I wanted to try everything! They had Chicken and Pesto, Tomato, Cheese and Garlic, Spinach and Artichoke (I promised to get this next time) so much more. It also serves American food like burgers, fries, onion rings and even Mac N Cheese.

I ordered Steak and Eggs pizza. It’s an unconventional pizza and it’s the first time that I’ve seen one like it. One slice is huge! It’s larger than my plate. It was a thin-crusted pizza, with peppers, onions strips of perfectly cooked steak and a whole, runny sunny side egg.

Steak and Eggs
Steak and Eggs

I was pleasantly surprised that the beef was tender and was cooked perfectly, medium well. The runny egg made the pizza savory and was another layer of flavor to the pizza.

Perfectly cooked steak
Perfectly cooked steak

It was really gooood. It’s my favorite pizza to date. I’ve read so much about the Spinach and Artichoke pizza do I will try that next time.

Mike had their Angus Burger. It was juicy even if he had cooked well-done.

IMG_5267[1]We also had Nolita’s Potato Chip Fries. It tastes like potato chips but thicker. It still has it’s crunch but with the soft, salty, savory taste. I liked it, Mike liked it, even Luke liked it.

IMG_5264[1]I wanted to try the cannoli but Mike reminded me we were off to a children’s party in two hours so I shouldn’t stuff myself too much. I should’ve told him dessert goes to a separate stomach and tried their canola. My friend told me it’s a must try.

If there’s one word  that will describe the restaurant, it’s rustic. Nolita is spacious both inside the restaurant and out. It’s a self-serve restaurant with wooden picnic tables.

IMG_5260[1] IMG_5261[1] IMG_5265[1]Overall, the Nolita experience was a great one. I am pretty sure we’ll be back soon. Hmm. Next weekend is not a bad idea 😀 .

Nolita is at the
UG/F Bonifacio High Street Central, West Superblock,
7th Ave cor 29th St Fort Bonifacio, Taguig
(02) 547-8661
8 thoughts on “Nolita: One of My Recent Favorites

Leave a Reply

