Happy foodie

Channeling My Inner Bakerella…NOT

Who’s Bakerella? She’s the Queen of cakepops, that’s who she is! She practically invented it and she is my idol and inspiration. She’s not just the best cakepop baker I know, she really comes up with great baked goods and sweet stuff.

One day (like yesterday), I decided to try another baked good apart from cakepops. This is probably the easiest, the most basic, the kindergarten of baking: chocolate chips cookies. I wanted to bake devil’s food cake but when I checked my available ingredients, I didn’t have all so I decided to bake cookies instead. Yep, I was confident that I’ll bake a yummy batch. So how was it?

Jaraaaaan!

IMG_5647[1]
MAJOR FAIL!

I need help here: what is more failed than failed? Hahahaha! Lesson of the day, over-confidence will never get you anywhere…only to burnt cookies.

Good thing I made a trial batch and I learn quick. I made another batch and they came out pretty good.

IMG_5648[1]IMG_5650[1]

They were chewy, soft and not too sweet but I still had to guess the right number of minutes to bake them because there was still a batch that was a little overcooked. Husband says they are good except nga for a few burnt edges on some.

Here’s the simple recipe for these chocolate chip cookies:

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups semisweet and/or milk chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Sift flour and baking soda together. Set aside.
  3. In an electric mixer, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy.
  4. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs.
  5. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute.
  6. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined.
  7. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  8. Drop tablespoon-size balls of dough on baking sheets lined with wax paper.
  9. Bake until cookies are golden around the edges (not burnt!), but still soft in the center, 8 to 10 minutes.
  10. Remove from oven and let it cool for a couple of minutes before transferring to a platter
  11. Best served with cold milk.

There you go. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Channeling My Inner Bakerella…NOT

Leave a Reply

