Mommy musings

Conversation between a 32-year old me and my 23-year old self

If I were to talk to my 23 year-old self, this is how our conversation will be like:

23: What is it like to be you…now?
32: I feel more empowered. I feel wiser. But I also feel more cautious and scared.

23: Scared? Why would you be scared?
32: It’s an oxymoron of sorts. I feel scared but I also feel braver because I need to be brave for people I care for. Right now, at 23, you are fearless. You can dare yourself to do anything you want. You should do that. Now is the best time for you to take risks and learn from the unknown. You will learn a lot from that.

23: My boss said I’m too ambitious. Is that a bad thing?
32: It’s both good and bad. It’s always good to dream, to aim for something higher, to challenge yourself. When you get to this age, you will somehow forget that but never lose it. Never stop dreaming. It’s bad if you get stuck in limbo of your dreams. Work to turn your dreams to reality. No one else will make them real for you but you.

23: Will I make bad decisions?
32: We all do. You might make really bad decisions in the near future. Be ready to pick yourself up.

23: How do I prepare for them?
32: Nobody gets prepared enough to get hurt. My tip to you is be patient. Be very patient. Before you make any final decision, no matter how appealing or tempting the choices are, think twice, no, four times. First decisions are not always the best ones.

23: Right now my life evolves in my career and my relationship. Any tip you can give me?
32: You tell yourself now that your life will be a career. You tell yourself you want to be a working mother in the future and you don’t see yourself as a domesticated mom and wife. Well, just get ready to eat your humble pie.

IMG_5923[1]
23 year old and 32 year old moi
23: I don’t think I’ll get married.
32: You will. To a wonderful man that will drive you crazy both in the good and bad context of that word. You will also have the most beautiful child that will change your life for good.

23: Sounds scary.
32: Right now it is. When you get to this position, you will realize you are capable of so many things that you never thought you’d be able to do. One of which is to love a being more than you love yourself. So much so that you want to be the best version of yourself for him.

23: Any other tips for me?
32: Learn to enjoy. You are young, at your peak so explore things and learn from them. They will come in handy in the future.

Keep the friends you value the most.

Don’t feel bad about losing some that don’t matter to you as much as your core group. You will have other sets of friends you will meet in the future and they will be another group whom you will value.

Save up for the future but don’t be too stingy on yourself now. Buy things…not just food.

Learn something new every year.

Travel now that you have the time for it.

Understand that time will never be enough, but it’s constant. So make the most out of your day.

No. You’ll not end up with whomever you are with now. You’ll meet someone in a very unexpected and amusing way.

Don’t stop reading books.

Never neglect your family. If you can, go out of town every year.

Live. Laugh. Love.

For 32 years these are the things I have learned. I know the world has more to offer and I hope I would be able to catch all of that. Here’s ready for coming years of living, laughing loving and learning!

PS. Thanks to all who greeted! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Conversation between a 32-year old me and my 23-year old self

  1. Nice post, maggie! But you left out the details re how you met someone in ‘a very unexpected & amusing way’. Kwento mo yun… πŸ˜‰

    Happy birthday, sister! πŸ™‚

  2. Love! Love! Love this post, sissy! πŸ™‚

    Kitang kita sa picture how carefree you are at 23. You don’t look 32, btw. 29 maybe?!. hmmm. Sobrang demure, teh. Dalagang Filipina?! But hey! Blooming ka! πŸ˜‰

  3. Understand that time will never be enough, but it’s constant. So make the most out of your day. —-> so true!

    happy birthday, maggie!!

  4. Winner post Maggie! I just love how you write… words and all =) Belated happy happy birthday! Ps I agree, you are blooming!

Leave a Reply

