Little Jedi

The Child Whisperer

Raising a child is unpredictable. If I may borrow a line from from Coldpay, “nobody said it was easy, no one ever said it would be this hard”. Right now I am having a struggle telling Lucas what to do and not what to do. Every time he throws a tantrum at us, sometimes I want to throw a tantrum myself too. Don’t get me wrong. I still like and enjoy being a mom but really there are times when I just watch my son shriek with the highest decibel and I just give a big sign and say to myself, “Oh, man.”

IMG_6197[1]
Tantrum kid

I’ve read tons of books on how to raise a toddler, a two-year old to be specific. I’ve done the recommended techniques. I keep forgetting that every kid needs a different style of implementing discipline, coaxing, and giving instructions. Lucas is a very active kid. He’s the energy bunny right now. He just can’t stop moving, little twister. He only stops exploring when we give him the phone or tab (which is the last option), or when he’s too tired and sleepy already. Some of the things he likes doing includes throwing (not dropping) balls, plush toys, cars, books and, his favorite, my phone. Thank goodness for iPhones are pretty tough that mine still works.

I guess this is all part of “decoding mommyhood”.Ā  When BIL tagged me on this post, it decoded another “mystery” of toddlerhood.

 

How to raise a happy, successful, cooperative child, while disciplining less. In 5 simple steps.

At first,Ā  I thought Lucas is a Fun-Loving type. When I read further, I realized that he is a Determined Child. The descriptions fits the behavior I observe from him. Do take note that this information is not to put labels to children but to give a better understanding of a child’s behavior so we can guide them accordingly. I hope this book is on sale here in the Philippines. If you happen to see it, please let me know.

What about your child? Does the descriptions fit his/her behavior too? Do you think the tips on discipline will be helpful? šŸ™‚

 

6 thoughts on “The Child Whisperer

  1. mine is considered a determined child as well. he is constantly on the move, does not like to be restrained, nor stay put. usually, pinapadyak yung feet nya pag hindi nakuha yung gusto sabay tapon ng whatever na mahawakan nya (lately remote yung victims)

  2. having a hard time deciding which category maia falls on. i feel you mags esp during the height of a tantrum and giving in to meltdown seems very tempting…if it helps — i always remind myself i’m the boss of this thing. and he’s just a child. so i should be more patient. (but yes, easier said than done. ALL.THE.TIME.) It gets easy though. promise!

  3. You are not alone, cuz. I guess Lucas are really in the stage wherein he is really confuse on what he feels especially when their getting frustrated. And I must agree with you, madalas talaga iphone or ipad ang last option just to make them calm. In fairness, in my case effective kay Cyler ung hahayaan ko lang muna sya mag-drama kasi eventually sya din ung kusang napapagod sa kaka-tantrums nya. Si Cj lang ung mas malambot pag dating sa ganyan.

    Anyway, as much as possible kung kayang i-prevent ang tantrums i-prevent na and know what triggers it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

