Happy foodie

I Can Cook! Bacon and Egg Cups

Yes, it’s a foodie weekend. 🙂

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Ironically, whenever it’s a workday, I would only have a cup of coffee for breakfast. Sad. I know. That’s why as much as I can, I’d like to give me and my family a good power breakfast. Speaking of power breakfast, to me that would be bacon and eggs. I love quiche and I love frittatas and so I tried to make a cross between the two. It’s not quiche because I didn’t use pastry and it’s not a frittata because it’s not fried and it doesn’t have potatoes in it. I think I saw it somewhere, a magazine maybe, but I can’t remember what it’s called. I remember the original recipe having spinach so maybe next time i’ll add that too. Needless to say it’s really good. C’mon, it’s bacon.

 

20130810-164515.jpg

 

Ingredients

  • 6 strips of bacon (You can choose your favorite kind. Prosciutto will also work I think)
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 4 eggs
  • butter
  • 1/4 cup of quick melting cheese (If I had mozzarella I would have used that!
  • salt and pepper to taste

Super easy procedure

  1. Preheat oven (190 degrees C).
  2. Beat the eggs. Add the veggies, milk and cheese. Mix well and add salt and pepper.
  3. Grease a muffin pan with butter. Line the bacon strips around each cup.
  4. Pour the mixture in each cup. Top with more cheese.
  5. Bake for ten minutes.
  6. Serve with a stack of pancakes and fruits or…bacon. LOL!

 

20130810-164547.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “I Can Cook! Bacon and Egg Cups

Leave a Reply

