Mommy musings

Healthy Meals at Yellow Halo

I am not a health buff. I want to. I am convinced that I need to. I try to but I’m not there yet. Calories keep following me like a hungry puppy. It could be the other way around too. For instance, as I type my post this very moment, my fingers are in sync with my mouth chewing on candy coated chocolates. I have so many reasons and excuses why I haven’t been consistent in my quest to be healthier. I know a lot of bloggers that I stalk are doing their “balik-alindog” project and I tell myself, “I want to. I am convinced that I need to. I try to but…”. Demmet. That “but” has to be removed. Soon.

One of my resolutions this year is to surround myself with positive people who can influence me for all the right reasons. After a meeting, my office mate, C, and I decided to have dinner and she brought me to a new place. Let me tell you a a few things about my friend. She’s a football player. She is enrolled in a circuit training program, and she has been convincing me to try it out too. Oh yeah, and she’s a she. I’d like to say that she values being healthy.

C took me to Yellow Halo. It’s a restaurant that serves healthy and delicious meals. We’re not talking about just oatmeal and cottage cheese here. It serves really good food. If you plan to serve healthy meals, where is the best place to put it up? Near fitness centers of course! It’s strategically located on the same floor as 360 fitness, Yoga+, and Polecats.

20130825-203921.jpg

C and I went inside the happy, well lighted place. She’s not a newbie and in fact it looks like she’s had a number of meals there already. The interior was inviting. I love the shelves on that wall that gives gives accent to the place.

20130825-202947.jpg

20130825-203320.jpg

Yellow Halo offers meals with 500 calories or less. Ideally, every person has to take in a maximum of 2,000 calories a day. That’s 4 meals from Yellow Halo. That means, breakfast, lunch, dinner and a snack. That’s good right? You never have to skip meals when you want to be healthy. Ideally. C gave me a quick orientation on how to order. She said that we order based on the calorie count. It didn’t sound enticing so I focused on the meals themselves. They offer rice meals, burgers, sandwiches, pasta, fresh fruit juices, salads, all under 500 calories per order. I was famished so I decided to have Mongolian Beef with rice.

20130825-202729.jpg

When our plates arrived, I was pleased with what was served. Hot Mongolian beef with brown rice, a large portion of blanched veggies on the side, and sliced fruits. I love the crunchiness of the carrots and squash. Too bad I don’t eat okra so I gave it to my friend. The mongolian beef was de.li.cious. The brown rice, though it was given in small portions, was filling. Suffice to say I was enjoying every spoonful of what I was eating. For Php 230 it was reasonably priced.

20130825-203843.jpg

Yellow Halo also offers sandwiches (I’m going to try the tomato, basil and cottage cheese next time), salads and rice bowls. Price ranges from Php 75 to Php 230. Healthy plates, like the ones we had ranges from Php 180 to Php 230. They have Spicy Tofu, Meatloaf with Spanish Coleslaw, Balsamic Chicken, Mixed Seafood, Grilled Tuna and more. What I like about these meals is that it indicates if the meal is a high-protein, low-fat, high fiber, low gycemic, or low-calorie plates. If you’re working out, it complements the program that you are in.

Grabbed from Yellow Halo’s FB page

Healthy bowls are priced at Php 120. The menu includes Sauteed Beans and Mushroom, Pan fried Fish with Garlic Sauce, Orange Chicken, Baked Asparagus with Parmesan, and more.

Grabbed from Yellow Halo’s FB page

Overall, I enjoyed my first experience in Yellow Halo. Even if I not a health buff, the least that I can do is eat healthy meals. And eating is one of the things I’m really good at. =)

 

Find Yellow Halo at:

22nd Flr Strata 100 Ortigas Center, Pasig

Check out their FB page for more info on the menu.

For deliveries outside Ortigas: 0906-356-0770, 2121212

 

 

10 thoughts on “Healthy Meals at Yellow Halo

  1. I think it would be great if the menus in restos have the calorie count, no? πŸ™‚ Ayun nga lang, baka magwater na lng ako. Hahaha.

    Teka, hindi pa ba yan nakakarating sa probinsya? I’d love to try!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for this post, maggie! πŸ™‚
    Em’s right, dapat lahat nga ng restos merong calorie count per meal served.

    I want to try out that place. πŸ˜‰

  3. Sigh. Sa boondocks walang ganito so I always end up making my own. 😦 Kakatamad na din most of the time. Will keep this in mind though Mags! πŸ˜€ And…Fitness Pal works so far pa naman pagdating sa calorie count. Yun lang unfair, my limit there is 1200 cal. Kainezzzzz.

  4. Please bring me here, cuz! Their food looks really yummy! In fairness! I agree with Em and Mommy Peach sana nga lahat ng resto may calorie count para ma-conscious ka sa kakainin mo pero feeling ko wa epek yun lalo na kung super yummy talaga nung dish noh? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

