Happy foodie

I Can Cook: Squash Soup 2.0

Now this is a nice change: me waiting for husband to be done with his meeting while I type away in Starbucks to update my blog. Rare indeed. Usually, they would be waiting for me to leave the office. I don’t mind doing this more often.

Anyhoo…

There is no doubt that I love to eat soup. I could have that for lunch or dinner. I particularly love vegetable soup. Remember the chunky chowder and malunggay soups? It’s healthy, it’s delicious, it’s perfect on a rainy day.

Yesterday, I posted on IG a photo of the squash soup that I cooked. I’ve posted a recipe of squash soup here before but this time, I think the recipe I came up is better. Yaya Weng brought home two beautiful squash. They are what we call maligat (does anyone know how to translate that in English?). I thought it would be perfect to cook as a soup. I rummaged through our crisper to see what’s there and I was happy with what I saw and added that to the soup.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups squash, cubed
  • 1 cup carrots, cubed
  • 1 cup potatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 cup apples, peeled and cubed
  • 1 medium white onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp chopped ginger
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube dissolved in 4 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup fresh milk
  • About half a teaspoon of ground nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste

You don’t have to be too OC about cutting the veggies equally since it will pass through a blender.

20130827-230111.jpg

20130827-230156.jpg

Sweat the onions. By sweating, I mean cooking the onions with medium heat until it’s translucent.

Saute the garlic with the onions. Add the all the veggies. Cook for three minutes.

Add the water with bouillon cube. Wait until the veggies are cooked and soft. Here’s a quick tip I got from Jamie Oliver. Boil water in a kettle or electric airpot before adding to the dish. It will cut the boiling time into half.

Add 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg. Go easy with the nutmeg it can be very strong. Add salt and pepper afterwards.

20130827-230242.jpg

Let it simmer for five minutes minutes so all the flavors would mix together. Add the parsley.

20130827-230333.jpg
At this point, it’s actually looks good to eat already

Pass it through a blender to make the soup smooth. I used a handy…er…hand blender for this.

Side story: When I tasted it initially, the parsley overpowered all the other flavors even the squash itself. I think I used a little over 1/4 cups. It needed a little sweetness. Instead of adding sugar or honey, I thought of using apples instead.  What do you know, it worked!

Add the cubed apples and cook for 3 mins. Pass it through the blender again. If you are using a food blender, add the apples first so you only need to blend once.

20130827-230424.jpg

Add the milk and stir.

I love it as it is. I asked Mike to taste it and he said it’s good. Then he opened the freezer and took out frozen bacon bits. Sigh. Men.

Well, I have to admit, the bacon added another layer of taste.

20130827-230436.jpg

Serve with bread or toast. Enjoy!

One thought on “I Can Cook: Squash Soup 2.0

Leave a Reply

