Mommy musings

My Story Telling Experience at Fully Booked

When Aimee of I am Aimee Diego posted on our Facebook Group that she is launching a story-telling program in Fully Booked, I got really excited. I immediately told myself I would be bringing the Littel Jedi because I noticed that he hasn’t been reading his books lately. Admittedly, I haven’t been trying harder to get him interested again.

 

Picture1

When I read the part where Aimee was asking if we would like to be a guest storyteller, I did not hesitate anymore and volunteered to be one.  Storytelling is one activity that I really enjoy doing with Lucas. Plus I really like talking to kids. I like the curious looks that I see in their faces when I talk to them.  I guess makapal din talga mukha ko. Haha!

Aimee invited me to be a storyteller one Sunday. The book that I was to read was The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I like this book. It’s about unselfish love. We have that book at home so I practiced a little with Lucas juuust to make sure that I will not fumble with the words.

I was scheduled at Fully Booked, Alabang Town Center which is good because I am from the South. The Story telling activity had two sessions, one at 2:00 PM and another at 4:00 PM. The staff announced throughout the store and invited kids to  go to the children’s books section where Lucas and I were waiting.

Lucas and I had so much fun. My kid was pabibo because he was also “narrating” with me. He wanted to sit on my lap pa! Parang event nya! When I finished the story he was the one who was saying “Thank you! Bye!” to the kids.

The best part of the experience is when we got home, the Little Jedi picked up his copy of The Giving Tree and started “reading”. I noticed his intonation was similiar to mine when I was reading the book in Fully Booked earlier. It made him interested in reading books again! Woohoo! So now, I vow to read his books as animated as I can be because he likes it that way.

The following week, Aims asked me again if I can be the guest storyteller. Of course I said yes!

20140510-212123.jpg

This time I chose the book that I want to read so I requested for my, and Lucas’ favorite book: The Cat in the Hat. There were more kids this time and as usual, my son sat in front.

20140510-212209.jpg

Catch Once Upon a Time in Fully Booked  BGC and ATC every weekend at 2:00 PM and 4:00 PM. Kids who like reading will enjoy it and it’s a fun way to get kids reading too.

FB Storytelling Poster FA-resized

Who knows. I might get invited again and you can catch me reading to the kids. Don’t forget to say “hi” if you do!

Thanks again, Aimee!

 

3 thoughts on “My Story Telling Experience at Fully Booked

  1. Gasp! The poster that I uploaded in our Facebook group didn’t upload pala! I just found out now by looking at the screen cap. haha

    Thanks for being one of our storytellers! 🙂 I love how Lucas is so involved in the activity. He’s super proud of his mummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

