Little Jedi

Learning How to Read

20140608-201520-72920062.jpg

One week to go before Lucas finally starts school! But even before he does, he has already started reading quite a number for words. It started right after his birthday. He was already familiar with the alphabet so I started introducing words to him. I would write a word down, let him recite the letters, then I would say how it reads. I repeated the words several times until he associates the letters to words.

The first words I taught him were simple, three-letter words like cat, dog, car, bus, etc. Every week, I would introduce a new word to the Little Jedi.  Every time saw the word, we would spell it out first and I will let him remember what that word looks like.

His interest in books went back after I did two story-telling sessions. Aimee, I have to thank you for this! During our own story-telling time, I would teach him a new word or two. He would remember them easily.

Tonight he was “reading” his current favourite, The Giving Tree, and I was so surprised that he already knows some of the words in the book like open, apple, tree, happy, boy.  I am so happy that he is back into reading and so happy that he can read words now.

Here’s a list of the words that he can read:

  • Cat
  • Dog
  • Duck
  • Pig
  • Horse
  • Car
  • Bus
  • Mommy
  • Daddy
  • Lucas
  • Elk
  • Bird
  • Elephant
  • Sheep
  • Hippo
  • Star
  • Shoes
  • Socks
  • Red
  • Green
  • Yellow
  • Purple
  • Brown
  • Black
  • White
  • Pink
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Orange (color and fruit)
  • Open
  • Tree
  • Apple
  • Happy
  • Too
  • Ball
  • Mama
  • Mice
  • Boy

No pressure on you, anak. Learn at your own pace, but I am so happy and grateful that you made my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

