Mommy musings

Pregnancy Cravings, New Experiences and Quirks

When I was pregnant with Lucas, my first trimester went by smoothly. Except for occasional motion sickness and two instances of vomiting, it passed by quite serenely.

This pregnancy has proved to be quite different from the first one. In my previous post, I shared with you that I had the hunch that I might be pregnant because I experienced headache and dizziness for two straight days. Little did I know that it was the first of many new experiences for me. This time it’s the total opposite of the first one.

Cravings

When I had Lucas, I only had one craving: frozen yogurt. Now, my cravings change every week! It started with me craving for anything sour so I had pomelo and green mangoes all week long. I couldn’t take anything sweet then. Chocolates made me nauseous. I met with my friends for lunch that week and I haven’t announced my pregnancy yet. One of my friends wondered why I didn’t order dessert and that is kind of unusual for a sweet tooth like me.

20140805-112313-40993645.jpg

TheΒ following week I craved for anything salty. Admittedly, I craved for Lay’s Sour Cream and Onions chips. I also loved (yeah it’s in past tense now) Mike’s grilled chipotle ribs. Now here’s the funny thing, Mike cooked chipotle chicken crispers and I didn’t touch it. I didn’t like the taste and the smell of it. Weird.

Right now, I crave for something sweet and cold. I had halo halo one weekend and holy cow, halo halo never tasted so good! Yeah, ice cream is on the list too.

I noticed I just want to stick with comfort food. Max’s fried chicken is on the list of my must eat, so are sardines (with calamansi), mechado, and adobo. Yum.

Nausea

I had a very bad case of nausea since my first month. There were times when I can’t go to work or I had to go home because my nausea is so bad. Every movement triggers it. I even experienced walking to the bathroom would make me nauseous. It has gotten better now that I am on my 13th week except when I smell Nuggets or anything ginisa.

Aversions

I am highly sensitive so I get cranky easily. I develop aversions to people that I don’t even know. If I don’t like what they are wearing, or they are not smiling, I immediately conclude that I don’t like them. I know, I know, parang ang sama sama ko with that. That’s why I don’t like going to malls anymore. I see a lot of er… unpleasant people. I’m sorry!

Challenges

Another reason why I don’t like going to malls is because I simple can’t. On my 11th week, I had spotting and on the same week, I bled and was brought to the hospital. I had the biggest scare of my life. Admittedly, I did training that Monday and was standing up for more than 3 hours. I suspect it’s what caused me to bleed. 😦 My doctor initially wanted me to take a two week leave but finally decided that I should rest until the end of my first trimester just to be sure that I will not be at risk of another threatened miscarriage. The complications could get worse in the future if that happens again.

20140805-112321-41001015.jpg

So here I am, with a full month to rest and blogging my experiences away. I cannot do much but I still plan to make it worthwhile without stressing myself. My doctor strictly told me to stay away from any form of stress so I am obliging. πŸ™‚

I am not complaining. It’s all part of the wonderful gift that we received again this year and it is my responsibility to take care of myself and my Little Peanut. πŸ™‚

20140805-112318-40998456.jpg

8 thoughts on “Pregnancy Cravings, New Experiences and Quirks

  1. I also craved for everything sour when I was pregnant but I also like dark chocolates. πŸ™‚ Spotting can be really scary because it can lead to miscarriage so yup you need lots and lots of rest. Hang in there and God Bless !

  2. I know how hard it is, my wife was obliged to take a bed rest all throughout the 9 months. But thank God, we now have a very healthy baby boy.

Leave a Reply

