Mommy musings

Ten Things Robin Williams Taught Me in His Movies

1. He taught me how to treat each day.

Dead Poets Society (1989) | 22 Of The Most Powerful Quotes Of Our Time

 

2. He taught me to love poetry deeply and sincerely.

"We don't read and write poetry because it's cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for." - Dead Poets Society

 

3. He introduced me to Pablo Neruda.

Pablo Neruda. This is the quote that Robin Williams reads in Patch Adams, which if you haven't seen it, you should.  It is a beautiful movie.

 

4. He taught me to be happy no matter what and make people happy.

"The most radical act anyone can commit is to be happy." ~ Patch Adams Quote

 

5. To have faith in the impossible

What Dreams May Come quote

 

6. To live each day to the fullest.

Life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky when the stars are strung across the velvety night, and when a shooting star streaks through the blackness turning night into day, make a wish and think of me. – Jack, Jack

 

7. Not to look for somebody perfect but for that imperfect half who will complete me.

My favorite Good Will Hunting quote

 

8. To live life like a child.

i am in love with this quote & the story of peter pan especially now that i have a little boy & i am hoping he never wants to grow up, for a little while at least :)

 

9. He taught me that a touch, a hug, a small talk can do wonders to people.

The human spirit is more powerful than any drug – and THAT is what needs to be nourished: with work, play, friendship, family. THESE are the things that matter. This is what we’d forgotten – the simplest things. – Dr. Sayer, Awakenings

 

10. To understand that seeing things differently is ok.

THE DEAD POETS SOCIETY -   One of our favorite Robin Williams movies, Dead Poet's Society focuses on the magic and freedom education brings to young minds willing to embrace its wisdom.

 

To the genius who molded my teenage years with his talent, thank you and rest in peace. I don’t know you personally and you do not know me either but somewhere in between the lines of the films you made, you have touched my heart as you have touched millions. I am deeply heartbroken that you’ve gone to Neverland forever. I will share the wonderful art you made to my children and my children’s children. 

Leave a Reply

