Adventures of a Preschooler

Writing Books for Learning Toddlers

One of the things that I told Lucas’ teachers during our first parent-teacher one-on-one was that I wanted Lucas to learn how to write. It’s one of those things that I, as a mom, really don’t know how to teach my kid so I asked for the teachers’ help. One month after school started, I noticed Lucas being more interested in writing. It wasn’t perfect but you can see the letters in his strokes. Since I am on bed rest for several weeks, I took the opportunity to support his interest.

We started with some worksheets. I would write the letters on dots and I would ask him to trace the dots.

Then Dadi bought these neat writing books.

IMG_1870.JPG

IMG_1869.JPG

These books are printed on glossy boards and the kids can write on it using a white board marker. Lucas and I loved it! Now he can practice writing over and over again because we just need to erase everything and start over. I like the Little Hands First Writing Book because Lucas learns how to the read longer words that he is tracing.

In fact, when Lucas wakes up in the morning, it’s the first thing he grabs and does even before breakfast! I received a report from his teacher that his writing has improved and he initiates doing his worksheets at school. Good job, Lucas!

Here’s where you can find these awesome books:

  • ABC board book – Tickles, Php 140
  • Little Hands First Writing Book – National Bookstore, Php 49.oo each
  • White board markers with eraser – Daiso, Php 66 for a pack of three
One thought on “Writing Books for Learning Toddlers

  1. That’s true , learning how to write the right way is important at that age. The next phase is having them “write” their thoughts and embrace writing as an art. I found that more difficult with my kids! Still working on it.

Leave a Reply

