Happy foodie

Easy 15-minute Breakfast

One morning (like last Thursday morning), we woke up (late) with no gas for cooking. Lucas and Dadi were going on a school field trip and I needed to come up with a quick breakfast for everyone. I could easily have asked yaya to buy pandesal (which is what Mike did) but for a pregnant woman with appetite and a growing toddler to feed, pandesal will not quite cut it. So I looked at my cooking options: rice cooker, oven and…that’s it. Good thing I read somewhere that a rice cooker can actually cook more than just rice and an oven can bake more than just cakes and pastries. Within 15 minutes, I was able to whip up a quick, yummy and, not to mention, healthy breakfast for me and Lucas.

Chocolate Oatmeal

This is SUPER EASY to make. All you need are:

2 cups quick cooking oats

2 cups water

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tbsp brown sugar (I used muscovado)

 

Mix all the ingredients in a rice cooker. Cook for 5-10 minutes (check the consistency that you prefer). Serve.

Simple. Delicious. Healthy.

IMG_1994.JPG

Bacon and Egg cups

I made Bacon and egg cups before. You can check the first recipe I had here. Yesterday, I made it quite differently because I had less time to prepare. Here are the ingredients.

1/2 onion, chopped

3 eggs

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup bacon bits

Suggested ingredients (if I had them, I would have included them):

Scallions

Button/Shitake mushrooms, sliced

 

Beat the eggs and add the  rest of ingredients. Mix well. Add a dash of S&P to taste. Pour mixture in a muffin pan and bake for 15 mins. This recipe makes six cups.

Serve. Enjoy. 🙂

 

 

IMG_1998.JPG

Leave a Reply

