Mommy musings

New Year Musings

New Year's Eve! - ©Dennis Jenders - www.flickr.com/photos/djenders/6608639103/:
Image from Pinterest

Happy new year!

I finally had the chance to sit down and write a post. It’s been ages since I last wrote one (last year, in fact lol). It’s been a crazy December and I have a lot of things to share with you including some learning from 2015, my very first cookie swap, our holidays, a sudden yaya exodus, and what kept me busy during the holidays.

Before I do all the backtracking, I’d like to start my blogging year with a gratitude post. It is a new year and I am full of gratitude for the past year. I have to be honest, 2015 has been a challenging year for me in many aspects: family, health, finances, self. It was a very interesting year BUT it was a year that brought me so many gifts despite the challenges. Before the year ended, I found myself feeling grateful for these gifts and all the lessons I learned from the challenges.

Last year, one of the most precious gifts I received was Marcus. He was the most welcome addition to our little family. I learned to be a mom again with him especially that I am now staying at home. I literally saw him grow up from a tiny infant to a toddler-wannabe. I learned to be a mom of two. I learned to be a mom of a jealous preschooler and manage it. I learned to be a mom of a clingy, baby. I love it.  My breastfeeding goal with Marcus is a success. Marcus is 11 months now and we are still happily breastfeeding.

Mike and I also had new opportunities last year. I am grateful for spending each day with my kids. I love bringing Lucas to school and picking him up. Our talk during the daily trips are some of the most precious ones. We received a great gift towards the end of 2015 that helped us in our finances.

Although the first half of the year made me miss my colleagues and friends at work, I also developed new friendships with like-minded people as well as stay-at-home and work-at-home moms like me.

It’s great that we have also started establishing our small business. My skills in baking and decorating have improved and before the year ended, we were able to offer our cookies to a lot of customers (who are not just friends! Yey!)

2015 humbled me with both the challenges and successes we experienced. It made my faith stronger and my relationship with my husband, kids and mom stronger.

I would normally feel sad every time the year ends because I tend to focus much on the unmet goals. This year, I focused my energy to all the blessings we received and it made me excited for 2016! My mantra for this year is to stay positive. There will always be something to look forward to: building the business more, family activities and vacations, events to plan, focusing on our health through a new regimen, and resurrecting the blog. Yes, I am positive that this year you will see some changes in the blog. I promise myself that!

Cheers to 2016! It’s going to be a great year if we make it!

One thought on “New Year Musings

Leave a Reply

