Mommy musings

2016 Cookie Swap

The summer heat makes me long for crisp December mornings. Speaking of December, I have been meaning to share with you the Cookie Swap I was invited to last December. I know it has been a while since my last post and now that my little boy is on summer vacation, I finally have some time to write this post down.

My friend Mish Aventajado of Momma N Manila hosts an annual Cookie Swap at the onset of December and just in time for the holiday season. She invites home-baker friends like myself for brunch and share good food, wonderful stories and great cookies. Friends, food, chika, cookies? Absolutely on my “must-have-in-life” list.

Mish hosts great intimate parties like the Cookie Swap. If you would like to know how she prepared last December, you can head on to her blog post here.

In a nutshell, a Cookie Swap is an intimate party where friends bring over several dozens of cookies and share it with everyone else’s. We were requested to bring 11 dozens (I think). I know that sounds a lot. I was a little overwhelmed top, the first time I joined but there’s a good reason for that.

Mish’s Cookie Swap is made more fun by inviting guest judges to taste the cookies and award the bakers. Nothing serious here folks. Just good ol’ friendly competition. The most fun part of the Cookie Swap is that each home baker gets to bring home one dozen of each kind of cookie that the other bakers brought. THAT’s what the eleven dozen cookie EACH was for. My friends and family were the happiest after every Cookie Swap.

Let me show you some photos taken during the 2016 Cookie Swap.

IMG_4661

IMG_4613
These were my Apple Walnut and Dates Cookies

 

IMG_4637
Tina’s Matcha Sesame Cookies
IMG_4631
Ginger’s Cream Cheese Almond Cookies
IMG_4634
Sab’s Black Sesame and Pistachio Oat Cookies
IMG_4632
Lizette’s Ginger Molasses Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies
IMG_4630
Gia’s Three C’s Cookies
IMG_4629
Mish’s Raspberry Pinwheel Cookies
IMG_4625
Lady and Steph’s Rosemary Lemon Olive Oil Cookies
IMG_4620
Cookie place card by The Little Whisk Ph

IMG_4641

 

IMG_4653
Our lovely host, Mish
IMG_4663
Last year’s winners and judges
IMG_4673
Our loot plus the cookies. We also get to bring home the cookie recipes. 

IMG_4677

I will be posting the cookie recipes of my cookies for 2016 and 2015 Cookie Swap parties.

I can’t wait for this year’s Cookie Swap!

 

 

Leave a Reply

